You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Steemit. Let's Talk About Flagging. Again.

in #flagging7 years ago

I'm relatively new here (Nov. '16) and not a very tech savvy guy. Having said that, I've not flagged anyone that I can remember. If I don't like the content of someone's post, I keep scrolling until I find one I like. If I consistently don't like someone's content, there's the "Mute" option so I'm not bothered.

As far as disagreement with rewards goes, somebody must have liked it enough to upvote it, or else the rewards wouldn't be there. I realize that this isn't a democratic platform that, in the words of Orwell, "Some animals are more equal than others." This is what drives people away and discourages many others- either from posting, or joining. But, I'm just a crazy old man...

Sort:  

I agree with the "If you don't like it, just move on" perspective because I think value (in this category) is subjective. Value can only be determined in the moment of transaction, and if it has upvotes, transactions have taken place. That said, I also see the potential for abuse where some whales could just vote on their own stuff for curation rewards and, over time, bring down the value of the entire platform as new users see (subjectively, comparatively, etc) low quality posts getting high rewards. Collusion in that sense is also a form of abuse and the downvote is a way to prevent that behavior.

But yeah, not all human animals think about these issues in the same way. :)

What you described is what I see on the Trending page... high dollar people upvoting often silly content. The problem is the disparity in voting power. It would take a lot of minnow downvotes to counter one whale upvote, unless I misunderstand the voting process. Anyway, I'm optimistic that in the long run things will work themselves out.

I have a post on the trending page right now. How should I take your comment? ;-)

The problem is the disparity in voting power.

I agree and I think the Steemit developers are aware of the issue also. There has been much discussion about the voting power curve and how it should be adjusted.

I'm optimistic that in the long run things will work themselves out.

Me too. :)

I guess you took it the right way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57158.90
ETH 2411.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28