You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I have never flagged, but I am considering it.

in #flagging7 years ago

I hear you. I feel you. I've thought about the whole flagging thing. I've written about it. It's hard to arrive at anything that consistently makes sense.

I like writing and creating content... but I also like the idea of being a "responsible curator." But I don't really have that much time on my hands... I try to keep up-- to the best of my ability-- with the growing number of people I have chosen to follow because they consistently turn out quality content. Which is a long way of saying I don't have a lot of energy left over to go through a "teaching process" with every newcomer I encounter.

In an ideal world, some version of "Thanks for your comment-- the best way to gain readers and a following on Steemit is _____" could be left on each comment and a potential response awaited. Some DO say "thanks for the help." The "clicking buttons for cash" crowd most likely will NOT. I have had a couple of Steemit "Elders" suggest that if we try to help and there is (a) no response and (b) the poster continues spamming behavior then we should downvote and "bury" their content.

Sort:  

I also have the time issue to deal with, this is why I don't want to follow dead links too often. There are many pressures on my time and attention (as with many people) and having people try to steal more of it with low quality doesn't make me feel like pressing the follow button.

I don't want to bury all of their content (even if I could) because there may be others sat find that same content awesome and love the proactive approach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68338.18
ETH 2645.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69