What Is Freedom?

in #flag7 years ago (edited)

download.jpg

What is freedom? Not everyone defines this word the same way. Some people see it as having the freedom to do whatever their government tells them they have the freedom to do. Some define freedom using symbols like a flag, a special song or words scribbled on parchment paper.

I define it as having the right to do anything I want to do, as long as what I do does not infringe on another person’s equal rights to do the same. Now, nowhere in that statement did I say I think I should have the right to do whatever I want with someone else's property, time, money or life, just my own.

Things like flags, songs, words scribbled on parchment paper do not symbolize freedom for me, so, therefore, I cannot get all worked up because someone else decides not to sing a song, wave a flag or respect something that other people cherish or feel deserves respect.

If other people like reciting mantras, waving colored pieces of cloth and consider that freedom, that’s fine, but I don’t care to do so. I also don’t care if other people decide they don’t want to participate in these customs as well, that’s what freedom is about.

To expand upon this even further, it should also be no one else’s business if someone wants to rip, burn or even piss on a piece of colored cloth known as a flag…as long as they are the actual owner of said piece of cloth, they get to do whatever they want with it…once again, as long as what they do does not harm others...and by harm I don't mean hurting someone else's feelings because that piece of colored cloth means something to them.

For the record, this also applies to Bibles, Korans, and whatever else people feel must be respected by everyone, sorry no one has to respect things you think are important, sacred or even holy. In all cases, the property owner gets to decide what they do with their property. If your delicate senses are offended because that piece of cloth or song holds special meaning to you, that is your problem, not the property owners.

You can of course voice your displeasure of their actions, but you don’t get to force someone to adopt your version of what freedom is, based on your hurt little feelings. Life is tough, get a helmet. Now my personal feeling is, people that burn flags are silly and childish as well. I think they're complete idiots, but they have a right to be an idiot as long they are peaceful.

So, as far as this whole recent football nonsense is concerned, I don’t care if they stand, kneel, sit, or do handstands during Anthem, as long as they are peaceful while doing it. Until sometime 2009 the players were never even on the field during the Anthem and other opening ceremonies, so this is all much to do about nothing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61