You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Flag, The Down Vote... my semi-frequent update to this idea... hopefully those in favor of the downvote read it

in #flag8 years ago (edited)

If that were how things were I'd be down voting/flagging EVERY single sport post.

Well, I sure am glad that we're friends!

I still haven't figured out why people feel the need to flag based on content preferences. I hear all of the arguments...but I don't think any of them are actually good. Oh, sure - the downvote might reduce the rewards for that one post because you feel that it's too high. But if your influence is large enough to make a difference, why not just go and vote for the things that you like? Make a positive impact on users rather than a negative one.

The only time people like flagging is when something is flagged that they don't like. Any other time, "It's abusive!" Grow up, folks. The system is what it is. If you don't like it, don't participate. Ignore it. Go support what you like. We don't care about your Content Crusading. You're making this a not fun place.

Sort:  

I wouldn't downvote sports even if we weren't friends. It is simply a topic I've really not had much interest in my entire life. This bummed my father out a great deal.

Yeah, I remember the discussion we had a while back when I wrote about sports and anarchists. Like it was yesterday!

I very rarely will watch a sport MOVIE about some true story or something and enjoy them. So there are exceptions. Sports just don't do it for me. My dad would watch two football games on TV (one in PIP) and some on the internet and be yelling and exciting. I TRIED several times to get into it. I was bored out of my mind.

I've seen a baseball game live in person once... and being at the stadium eating hot dogs and such wasn't so bad. Not something I'd be excited to do often.

I've seen a hockey game. More active and not bad.

I've been to a Denver Broncos game... God that was worse than watching it on TV. I don't drink alcohol... Football at the stadium... 3 minutes of nothing followed by 10 seconds of action. If you happened to be looking the wrong way you would miss it. At least on TV they have the instant replays...

Oh I was also really pissed off at the "so-called fans" they amounted to what my dad called Fair Weather Friends. Broncos was not doing so good so they actually started getting up and leaving early rather than trying to be supportive of their team. It was not a small number of people that did this.

All I could think is "These people are dicks!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34