Five Nuggets from Uncle Faust (Episode 1)

in #fivenuggets7 years ago

bestsellers_nuggets.png

As I was lost in some cursory internet wanderings while looking up Stoic philosophy (sue me – I have some diverse interests), I had an accidental collision with some Tim Ferris articles and got sucked down into the rabbit hole.

Somewhere after listening to yet another Podcast on Stoicism and the letters of Seneca, I was inspired by Ferris to pull together a weekly series covering things which caught my attention to share with my followers. While it’s not Steemit specific, I will feature at least one blog post from Steemit which caught my attention this week.

I’d love to see others pick up the baton and post their own nuggets under the hash tag: #fivenuggets

Without further ado, five nuggets which caught my attention this week:

Timeline of the Far Future

http://www.informationisbeautiful.net/visualizations/timeline-of-the-far-future

I have to offer a plug to Stumbleupon for this particular nugget. If you have never used Stumbleupon, it is by far one of the best ways to uncover content you may have never come across before. In my current episode of Stumbleupon void-filling and time-killing, I came across this killer Infographic of the far future timeline until the Earth is consumed by the sun.

Scotch, Song, & Soul - What the Water Gave Me @uniwhisp

https://steemit.com/whisky/@uniwhisp/scotch-song-and-soul-what-the-water-gave-me

I have to admit from the start, I am seriously finicky about what I curate and upvote. However, when I can find a philosophical post which combines the concepts of embracing chaos and weaves in allusions during a whisky tasting, I find myself compelled to read more. Excellent piece to check out during some spare time.

Wild new microchip tech could grow brain cells on your skin

https://www.cnet.com/news/stem-cells-skin-nanotransfection-dna-brain-organs-ohio-state-nanochip/

One of the absolute coolest things I stumbled across this week is how the Star Trek Sick Bay surgical suite will be coming to a hospital near you soon. What more can be said about how incredibly awesome it is to live in an age where, with the swipe of a microchip, skin cells can be reprogrammed to become virtually any other cell type your body might need?

Beam me up, Scotty.

Loving Vincent (Upcoming Film)

I’ve been waiting for this movie since I’d first heard about its production last year. Inspired by 120 of Vincent Van Gogh’s paintings, 125 artists pooled their collective talent to create the very first biographical film from 65,000 oil paintings done entirely by hand. They were stitched together to form live action sequences which are absolutely breathtaking. The film is due to hit theaters in the United States September 22, 2017.

American Numismatic Association (Money Museum)

I’ve been traveling through my home state of Colorado quite a bit in recent times, and my wife came across a Groupon for the “Money Museum” here in Colorado. It boasts the largest and most complete collection of American Gold coins from 1795 – 1933. While I’m not an avid coin collector, the history of currency, coins, paper currencies and other specimens do interest me, as I would imagine it would interest most crypto enthusiasts. I’m looking forward to hitting this museum sometime in the next two weeks. I’m sure a blog post will come from this.

Looking forward to seeing #fivenuggets from some others out in Steemitland.

Until next time....

Sort:  

You got my vote and a resteem :)

@taylor.swift thanks for the upvote and resteem it's much appreciated.

Do you have a couple of nuggets of stuff you'd like to share?

Wonderful collection! Timeline of the far future gives amazing information. Post on "Money Museum" would be interesting to read. Thanks.

@shirish thanks for checking out the blog post. I appreciate the support.

Do you have some nuggets you'd like to share?

Wow..anither nice post from @lpfaust
(1) your written skill and presentation skill is excellent sir.... you have earned my respect.
(2) you have got good command.
(3) Thank you sharing this post with us

I have become your fan.
will be regular reader of ur blog.
Happy steeming..
Resteemed
Cheers!...

@dinisanda thanks for taking some time to read and comment. It's always appreciated.

I'd like to see some more diversity f content here on Steemit and the hope is others will contribute their own #fivenuggets so we can connect a bit with the individual behind the screen name pseudonym.

Great article buddy :) great Episode it was

@cityslicker thanks for stopping by to take a look. I appreciate it.

Looking forward to seeing others pick up the baton as well and start to provide their own #fivenuggets which caught their attention this week.

@lpfaust, I think I might use this tag once in a while. Maybe once a week. It's been too long since I've used StumbleUpon to dig through the deep ends of the internet. It's an awesome tool. :)

@anonimnotoriu thanks for dropping by to check out the new tag and the blog. I appreciate it.

By all means please use the tag. My own intention is to do this once a week to try and bring a little diversity into the Steemit ecosystem and give my followers a bit of a more personal side of me to get to know.

I'm looking forward to seeing your #fivenuggets as well. Soot me a DM with the link on steemit.chat when you post it up.

growing brain cells on the skin is really is fascinating but it will get controversial even if it is just researched upon.
I would like to see that movie. Van Gogh is such a good artist for an inspiration for a movie.

@cryptopie thanks for checking out #fivenuggets.

I can see how growing brain cells from skin cells may invite controversy, but the ramifications of what this tech could do for healthcare is staggering. It goes so much further. This chip can reprogram skin cells into stem cells , and it can create cells, organs or whatever the body may need. It's something straight out of sci-fi.

In terms of the Van Gogh movie, it's something I've waited about one year to see. The entire movie is comprised of 65,000 original oil paintings from 125 different artists all modeled after Van Gogh masterpieces. I am so incredibly excited to see this film.

I wouldn't be so surprised what the future in medicine and medical technology would bring but there are much room for growth and development until maybe humans can live longer and much healthier.
I am also excited about the film, much works of art to discover too.

At me on other apartment a collection of the Lats - coins which went in Latvia of 20 years and have been canceled when Latvia has passed on euro. But lats I specially collected before the transition.

When I get to that apartment, I'll take a picture of them.

@dlina-v-metrah thanks for checking out this post. I appreciate it.

I'd love to check out the Lats. When I hit the museum of money, I will post the pics and a write up as well.

Do you have #fivenuggets you 'd like to write about?

That's except that this collection of lats. If it falls into the concept of the rubric.

Wonderful to read i enjoyed #fivenuggets

@blazing thanks for stopping by for a read.

I'm glad you enjoyed the read and I'm hoping to see #fivenuggets become something a bit more widespread to diversify the content on Steemit a bit more.

its a great one @lpfaust wonderful collection giving amazing info..money museum is something i would like to know more and more ..thank you keep steemiting.

@shivohum2015 thanks for stopping by and spending some time reading through my #fvenuggets. I appreciate it.

I'm looking to visit the Money Museum in the next two weeks and will write a post on it for Steemit. Seems in recent history, life has become quite busy on my side.

My hope with #fivenuggets is to see more post under that tag as well, sharing five things which caught their attention this week as well. Do you have #fivenuggets you'd like to share?

wonderful article to read highly appreciate your work.
Resteemed.
Thanks
Cheers !

@dinsha many thanks for the read and resteem. I appreciate it.

I noticed your blog had a number of entries on various species of birds. Are you an active birder? I can remember when I lived in New York, birding had very strong support, and we had a number of different species which migrated through Central Park. In more recent history, I had the opportunity to have a hummingbird as a guest in my garden on it's migratory path down south. First time I ever saw one.

yes i am a bird lover , now I am out of my home country and did not get a chance go for a bird watching. Whenever i get a chance i love to observe birds behavior. thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87