Sort:  

Who could have known,
Before innocence had flown,
That souls are bought,
Souls are sold....
And hearts could be so cold?

Dear @onceuponatime , I am not quite sure how you have it in your mind, but the way I see it, souls are willingly and frequently sold, because the majority of us are not even sure of their existence. Sure, we keep hearing about them from a young age and "experts" from religious and artistic circles, such as priests and poets, reassure us of their existence, but can we see our soul? Can we touch our soul? Do we even feel it? I am afraid the majority of us don't.

It's easy to sell something you can't see or feel. No guilt! However, I am quite positive that you're speaking metaphorically and by soul you define the spirit, the dignity, the honor of a human. What's a soul after all? The core of our existence, no? Living without dignity and honor, is like living a meaningful, "soulless" life. However, you can still live a meaningful and dishonored life...many choose to do so, unfortunately.

Can you live without your heart, though? Can you sell your own heart? No, you can't. You can sell your soul, usually for completely egoistical purposes, but you can only donate and never sell your heart to someone you love (metaphorically and literally speaking). It takes selfishness to sell your soul, but unselfish love to give your heart.

So, souls are sold and hearts can be cold when you're selfish with no love inside you. The only difference is that one is for sale and the other is for sharing. When you don't share your heart, it will inevitably get cold one day!

PS. I try to spread my "soul" (I prefer the word spirit) with everyone around me and donate pieces of my heart to whoever needs it. I can guarantee you, however, that there are not many people who want much to do with my warm heart, as it suffers from atrial fibrillation and ectopic heartbeats for the past 11 years. I am thinking of tattooing this little design somewhere on my body in order to make it behave a little better and stop giving me such a hard time. Will it work? I hope so, because only 150 mg of propafenone x2 per day works for the time being ;)
16729578_394527400939397_4876821087453740846_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.11
ETH 2323.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34