5 Facts About Me (Expose Yourself Challenge)

in #fivefacts7 years ago (edited)

Five Facts About Me


A couple of days ago I put myself in a position where I was likely to be invited to do this new challenge that is currently floating around Steemit. I wasn't sure if I wanted to do the challenge, but I also wanted to comment on my friend @erh.germany's post since it was genuinely an interesting read.

So, after a couple of days of considering what he hell I should write, here is my 5 Facts About Me Challenge post.


Fact 1 - My Wife Doesn't Want me to Write this, But She Made all the Moves


I met my lovely wife (@bluebellpossum) at university. I still remember seeing her for the first time at our first lecture. She had a massive grin on her face that made me laugh immediately. I knew I wanted to get to know her better from that moment. We became close friends in our first year and, while I wanted to be more than friends, for some reason I was too scared to make a move. Probably because I was so scared of ruining our amazing friendship.

source

Anyway, one evening at the university tavern while we were drinking free cups of tea (we were poor university students, who the hell could afford beer?), the gorgeous @bluebellpossum turned and said to me; I want to go on a date with you tonight, take me out to dinner.

So, with the money that was meant to be used for petrol, I took the lovely lady on a date at our local Thai Restaurant. It was an amazing evening, which we finished with a movie - Kill Bill 2. This definitely isn't the sort of movie that most people would choose to see on their first date. It's a tad graphic with a few limbs being cut off here and there. Not exactly a romantic film. However it was a good film all the same.

So romantic!

I drove my incredible wife home, visualising the long walk home to my house in the Adelaide hills given that I was about to run out of petrol and had no money left, where she invited me in for a cup of tea.

More tea? Or am I about to have the best first date of my life? - I thought to myself.

We walked through her front door, only to be greeted by my now Mother-in-Law. @bluebellpossum was quite serious, we had a nice cup of tea and a lovely chat with my Mother-in-Law.

I'm pleased to report that my wife and I are still the best of friends. @bluebellpossum is my favourite person in the world.

I should probably make it clear that this fact may not be entirely factual: @bluebellpossum did make the first move, but was very sweet and non-demanding. I just wrote it this way for hilarity reasons. We did go for Thai food and a screening of Kill Bill 2. Wifey did indeed invite me in for a cup of tea, and I was greeted by my now Mother-in-Law. While I was dirt poor, I did have enough petrol to get home that night (only just though).


Fact 2 - I Stole Chocolate and Sold it to my Fellow Students for Pocket Money


I come from quite a poor family, and rarely received any pocket money throughout my childhood or teenage years. Being a young teenager in his first years of high school, I needed money to buy the things that my friends were showing off at school. I knew full well that my parents couldn't afford these things so there wasn't any point asking for money.

source

So I decided to get creative. I had already discovered that I was pretty good at stealing food for breakfast. I never ate breakfast at home. So I thought I'd target some of the bigger items in the supermarket. I found that I could fit a bulk pack of chocolate bars down the front of my pants. And if I walked carefully, the crinkling noise of the pack wasn't too loud.

So I started stealing bulk packs of chocolate bars on a daily basis, and I sold them for 50 cents each (about half price at the time). And this was how I made my pocket money. Thankfully, the scanning units at the exits of supermarkets didn't exist at this time, otherwise my plan would not have worked.

It's funny that the only time I got caught stealing was when I stole a Milky Way bar from a different supermarket. If you don't know what these bars are, they're tiny, and a damn sight easier to steal than a bulk pack of chocolate bars.


Fact 3 - I Love Photographing Feathered Things but can't be Bothered Processing the Images


For those that follow me, you'll know that I post a tonne of bird photos. The funny thing is that most of these photos were taken more than 2 years ago.

This image is from 3 years ago

I have about 30 gig worth of photos that I've taken over the past 2 years sitting on various SD cards, simply waiting to be processed in my image processing software. I am a terrible procrastinator and keep telling myself that I'll sit quietly with a beer and some music playing and start sorting through the images.

But then I go out and take more photos to add to the backlog of photos that need processing...


Fact 4 - I Post About Beer a Lot but Actually Know More About Wine


I spent a few years working in the wine industry both in vineyards, doing maintenance work, and in wineries themselves, helping with the wine production process. I developed a love of red wine during this time, since I was able to take a lot home when the stock was damaged or the bosses were feeling generous. Without realising what was happening, I developed a palate for good quality red wine. I've since visited most wine regions in Australia, and love a good quality red wine. I'm the first to admit that I am heavily biased towards wines from the South Australian wine regions though.

source

My love of beer is actually quite new. I wanted to know about home-brewing, with the view that I might progress to make mead. But while learning about home-brewing I started trying various craft beers to learn about the different home-brewing techniques and processes. And I ended up falling in love with craft beer and after discovering the weekly #BeerSaturday contest run by @detlev discovered how enjoyable it is to write beer reviews.

So, for the time being, I'm posting a lot about beer. I expect that during the cooler months I might post the occasional wine review, since all I drink is big and bold red wines. And you don't drink that type of wine in hot weather. I also have a few nice bottles in my collection that are waiting to be consumed.

This bottle has been taunting me for 5 years

Fact 5 - I'm in Love with Skydiving but have a Fear of Heights


I've jumped out of a perfectly functional plane on 3 seperate occasions and have loved it every time (despite almost having a heart attack on my first jump). I'm now at the stage where I plan to learn to jump solo.

That dot in the sky is me on my last jump. I high fived a cloud!

The funny thing is though, the reason why I jumped out of my first plane was to get over my fear of heights. It's helped with the fear, but I still get a little vertigo when I'm at height and on a slightly unstable surface.

I'm not sure if I'll be able to solo jump though. My lovely wife is having a hard time coming to grips with the concept. So we'll wait and see what 2018 brings. I might be posting a DTube video of my first solo jump before the year is out.


So there's my five facts! I hope you enjoyed reading them. I'm going to nominate my fellow wine fiend @braveboat to take on this challenge. Let's see what he brings to the table!


Sort:  

This is awesome!

Speaking about her making the moves but not really wanting anyone else to know, my wife essentially did the same thing, except it was the marriage proposal, and to this day, she contests my version of it (being, she brought up the idea of getting married, and kept suggesting dates to do it until I agreed), but she can't come up with how it really happened (or even a better story!) 😃

After that, I have nothing else in common with ya.

Okay, so I did steal something—a comic book, candy?—don't remember exactly, but I know I got caught (by my parents after the fact) and had to take it back. I do like photography and capturing that perfect moment. Then there's that fear of falling deal. That, though, I will securely hold onto right here on the ground, thank you very much.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with having a love of your feet on the ground. Some of us enjoy picturing our impending doom while plummeting 15,000 feet towards the earth with nothing but a large piece of cloth to slow our descent though.

My wife completely disagrees that she made the first move as well. I have no idea why though, it was quite adorable how she made the move.

It's generally womanly instinct to disagree about the initiative of a relationship event. It's rather a shy kind of feminine instinct.

HeHe:

A couple of days ago I put myself in a position where I was likely to be invited to do this new challenge

"Invited" is a very nice word for being called out :-) LOL!!

And thanks for mentioning my name in your article. That's a form of honor, I do take with pride:)


I promised to read with a silly mind. So there I go:

Hmmm.... You must know my brother. He actually said the same thing about "jumping of an actually intact plane". Why would one do that? ......

Well, I for some reason doubt your therapeutical intention. Come on, it was not for losing your fear of heights. It was for the sheer fun and kick of it! (keep in mind: I am silly reading:)

Stealing chocolate back than obviously trained your business skills - also to go "all in" with this risky manoeuvre: getting caught and being ashamed. I am sharing the same background and I can tell, there were some similar ingenious thiefs amongst.

Now, how you met your wife and went on a first date: Well done!! You set priorities and I can see, you were even willing to walk home, no matter what! That shows devotion. And it lasts until today. I'll check out her blog!

For the beer & wine: that's just fine :))

Thanks for your funny reply Erika. :)

The chocolate stealing did indeed teach me some business skills. Well more marketing skills, my cost of goods were incredibly low.

I may have jumped out of a plane the 2nd and 3rd time more for the rush of adrenaline more than anything. It's an incredible feeling when you're free falling towards the ground. :)

always welcome!
indeed: cost of goods were low - LOL! :)

okay, not the first jump: I am taking that without any resistance.
Cannot imagine how that feels. But then ... on the other hand ... I can. I dreamt several times of being able to fly. And in my dream they were also kind of "woahhhh!!! Fast!! Cool!!! Ticklish!
One was so funny; I flew the streets of a huge sky-scraper city and wiped people's hats off their heads from behind. Inside giggling and full of mischief!

That is the most hilarious dream ever. You should give it a try, it's the closest thing you will ever feel to true flying. :)

I did fact 2 as well, shame. We would have competitions to see who could do the most blocks of chocolate. I did ten blocks down my pants (what the....). I went to boarding school over 20 years ago and received very little pocket money compared to others. I would steal loads of chocolate from the supermarket's and sell it. I even had a IOU sheet with everyone who still owed me. I believe this is why I got caught, someone who owed must of told. Our house master came to search my locker and found a locker full of chocolates, he knew very well that I could never afford that much. They gave me a warning. I was glad to be caught, as I never stole again and learnt my lesson :) I enjoyed your post and also hope to jump out of a plane to overcome my fear.

I think you may have been even better at stealing than me. :)

I never stole again after getting caught as well. My parents disappointment was so severe that I couldn't ever do it again.

Well, I like this challenge already. These are 5 terrific facts about you, @mazzle!

I had no idea you worked in the wine industry. You absolutely have to start posting wine reviews so we can learn from you!

And here's a fact about me: my career was loss prevention in the grocery industry for 25 years. So, you and I need to have a little chat. 😉

Oh wow! That is hilarious. We're lucky we didn't grow up in the same country, we may not have been friends. :P

I'll post a wine review soon. Funnily enough, my cellaring fridge broke down today so I have to drink my wine soon whether I want to or not.

Awesome! Can I be nominated? I am stealing the chocolate story for your 40th bday speech.

I'll totally nominated you! You're also evil.

@mazzle, omg... I was cracking up at your entire post.
1.) Your gif with the burning house... hilarious... and you being a scaredy-cat, just like my husband...
2.) The fenced chocolate would have probably fetched a higher profit if you stood by a bank entrance and sold it to adults coming out.
3.) Wow... amazing photo!!!
4.) You should start a #WineSunday thread like @detlev does for beer!
5.) I'm right there with you with regards to fear of heights which is why I think it's crazy you're jumping out of planes! I would think it's the initial part of the jump that would make you the dizziest.
Thank you so much for sharing such a cool post! Resteemed.

Wine Sunday... not a bad idea at all. :)

Thanks for the compliments. It was a fun post to write.

The rush of adrenaline at the beginning of the jump is insane. As soon as the parachute is released everything slows down and it becomes quite relaxing. :)

i love this post man! especially number 1.. thanks for sharing facts about yourself bro! and i also had my fair share of stealing too when i was a kid.. hehe great post! :)

Thanks @anywong31! I think many of us went through a stealing phase when we were young. My hilarious and nerdy wife stole a few things when she was a kid.

She started off by stealing a dictionary, the scary thing is that she read it cover to cover. :P

hehe yeah i think we all do too! i remember opening a pack of instant noodles just so i can steal the free sticker that comes with it! haha thanks for sharing your story man! :)

Very cute, glad you are both happy!

I'm also going to nominate @aghunter to do this challenge at his request. :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mazzle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38