Five Facts about me: Following the Trend

in #fivefacts7 years ago (edited)

So I saw that this is something that people seem to like so I thought I would give it a shot. “Five facts about me” should be pretty easy. I don’t talk about myself much, but I want to try to get involved and this could be a great way.

samuel-l-jackson-in-pulp-fiction.jpg

1: Movies are my safe haven

When I was younger I would go to a movie almost every evening with friends. It was something to do and it kept us out of trouble. At the time we had a couple dollar theaters in town and it made for cheap entertainment for a couple hours. Because of this I saw many movies from the 90’s multiple time. Pulp Fiction was a favorite. I saw it in the theater 26 times on the first run. Still love the movie.

Today I can’t go as much, but it is still my favorite past time. At one point I had THX certified Theater in my home with a 120 inch projected screen and over 2500 DVD’s. Now I have all the services and an 8 TB drive full of all my movies from the past. I still go to the movies, but with a family it can get very expensive.

download.jpg

2: I am obsessed with data hunting

I stumbled onto articles on Reddit about searching google for open directories and love to play with it to see what I can find. I never do anything malicious but I can say that people need to me more careful with what they leave open to the public. There are Huge directories full of book videos and music all over the place. What is surprising is the amount of private stuff people will leave open for you to find.

coccyx.jpg

3: I have a fractured tailbone.

When I was 16. I was carrying a barbell filled with about 300 pounds of weight down a flight of cement stairs. They were a bit slick and I fell hitting my tail bone numerous time. It was the worst pain I have ever experienced. The X-ray should that it was badly cracked and I was told that there wasn’t much they could do about. To this day I have a very hard time sitting normally in a chair for too long.

R-55901-1294709286.jpeg.jpg

4: I love exploring new music

I was a head banger until about 15 then a friend gave me a copy of Engima’s Sadeness Part 1. It just grabbed me and I listened to it every night, exploring the environment it had in the sounds and music. After that I began trying to find new sounds and became obsessed with the smallest details in the songs. I explored everything I could find and went out of my way to go to small record stores and talk with people about what they listened to. I have become very eclectic in my music listening and have well over 8000 albums. I had many more but lost them in a flood. They are now backed up on a server redundantly.

tumblr_mcbyo78jp51qiceiuo1_1280.0.jpg

5: I worked in a Virtual Reality Arcade in 1997.

Well today we have Oculus and Vive ( I have both) and now the Windows Mixed reality is coming around. In 1997 we had 50000 dollar machines that we not much better the NES games strapped to your eyes. I read about VR for the first time in 1992 in Mondo 2000. A Short lived Cyber Punk Magazine. I have been obsessed with it since. Ask me about it. -

#fivefacts

PACCoin Wallet: AtTUwbhE2EcgBwogX4C6eMZDBrJt1c8fQv
BITCoin Wallet: 1C5J3Kw9TLPaABPhLir2TbLCqrZarcXWB4
Bitconnect Wallet: 8Q3VxDHcmWvk951xP45cy71e2Pw5utR6zt
Bitconnect Referral Link

Sort:  

Awesome post! Thats pretty badass about working in a VR arcade, I've seen a few popping up locally nowadays with the full room greenscreened out and all that, wondering if you think these will become big hits, could be a great business opportunity.

I would love to see these become a really business opportunity. I grew up in arcades and think this is the evolution. I thought that in the 90's as well. Just last week I spent an afternoon at Cactus Jack's In Oklahoma City playing pinball and video games. I think that these old school arcades COULD take it to the next level. At cactus Jacks they had rooms of computers for online gaming, the next step is VR.

The Oculus and Vive are great. I still see them as the 8-bit get of the the tech though. I know that the 8k VR is coming, but there is a tactile need and the ability to really walk. It is coming and in another 5 years we will have something close to that. That of course will be the arcade version, but the home experience will be wireless and much more versatile.

Great read. Delighted to see this #fivefacts thing taking off! Everyone should do one.

I really Liked the Idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72