Disguised at the border - a fifty words story

in #fitywords6 years ago (edited)

chainlink-690503_1280-1.jpg

They had allowed for everything.

But, not rain.

The sky darkened as it delivered its watery bounty.

The colour ran from her hair.

So close.

She could smell the freedom now.

"Stop them" boomed a guards voice.

They ran.

She thought she tasted freedom.

It was blood.

Her own blood.


That was my attempt to weave a mini story in just fifty words based on the prompt provided by the wonderful @jayna.

The image is not mine and can be found here

Hope you like it.

Peace Out,

@ablaze

Sort:  

Whoa. Thrilling and dark. Such a dystopian yet real world. This is well done, Ablaze!

Inspired m'dear, absolutely inspired!

Aaah, thanks a mil :o)

What happened next????

That's open to your interpretation, unless I write a follow up at some stage... Hmmmmm...

Oh! Freedom... So close, yet so far away...

😄😇😄

@creatr

It was right there in her sights too, only to be snatched away... I wonder would they have made it if it hadn't rained?

Wow! I envy your ability to tell such a gripping story in so few words!

She thought she tasted freedom.
It was blood.
Her own blood.

Your ending was so powerful and dark. To have been so close...

Ah thanks a million @brisby, you're as good :o) Forgive me really really late reply... Lost password while on hols and still catching up since I got home... :o)

Hi @ablaze. Nice work! Oh, the idea that the taste of freedom was actually the taste of blood. Yikes!

I apologize for the delayed response. I have to recover my @jayna account, and currently am posting as @jaynas-minime. (I described the situation here.) Hopefully I will be back as the real me soon!

Thanks a million!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83