You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Down 62 Pounds! Intermittent Fasting & My Fitness Challenge Check in!

in #fitnesschallenge7 years ago (edited)

Great explanation on autophagy. I'm trying to re-boot my family's eating habits coming up here and your post is inspiring. I've heard a lot on intermittent fasting. Thought about that, but have you heard whether or not it is okay for kids to do?

Sort:  

I wouldn't do it with younger kids, although I did have my 17 year old do it for health reasons because her digestive system was WAY out of whack and nothing seemed to help, plus her immune system was in the crapper and she was constantly getting sick.

For younger kids, I think the small intermittent fasting would be fine, even just getting out of the habit of eating upon waking as a first thought. But mostly when it comes to kids, I would just try to incorporate healthy habits throughout the day, whatever that means for your family. For me, it means more protein (especially starting the day with protein helps me not crave sugar and helps me to avoid all the sugar highs and lows that come with that). Make sure they're getting plenty of fiber and healthy fats as well.

We also incorporate a shake each day. We premake a moothie "mix" in the freezer with probiotics, spinach, bananas, strawberries, protein powder and a healthy meal replacement powder. All she has to do before school is dump it in the blender, add milk and take the cup with her to the bus. It works well and saves us all a lot of time. We prep a bunch on the weekends.

Great ideas! I've been thinking about this whole not eating right away in the morning and doing two meals rather than 3. Saves on a lot of cleanup work and cooking.

As a mom, I can say that I LOVE the idea of anything that cuts down on cleaning! I do a LOT of bulk cooking and am trying to get a post formatted with all of my 'go to' easy meals that have the majority of the stuff that you can prep ahead of time!

Saving time is so important when there is ALWAYS something to do!
@byn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24