ISOMETRICS & CALISTHENICS

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Zeus--greek-mythology-687267_1024_768_3984.jpg

CALISTHENICS

are exercises consisting of a variety of gross motor movements—running, standing, grasping, pushing, etc. — often performed rhythmically and with minimal equipment, so essentially, bodyweight exercises. They are intended to increase body strength, body fitness, and flexibility, through movements such as pulling or pushing oneself up, bending, jumping, or swinging, using only one's body weight for resistance; usually conducted in concert with stretches. When performed vigorously and with variety, calisthenics can provide the benefits of muscular and aerobic conditioning, in addition to improving psychomotor skills such as balance, agility and coordination. Many consider calisthenics as "movement through space", meaning you can move freely without any restriction blocking your full strength.

Source

I had reconstructive knee surgery 2 weeks ago. Isometric and calisthenics exercises are a god send. It's supported me in increasing my mobility way beyond any initial expectations in my rehab recovery and strength training process.

I was warned that I would likely not really be able to walk without assistance for up to a month. I started the process of walking slowly after 5days. The first days after surgery mostly all I did was isometric like squeeze exercises where I would flex my quadriceps and calves. Also just simply standing was an exercise in and of itself. And moving myself into stances. All of these things came quite naturally to me - like my body just wanted to move and heal itself.

The timing is perfect as there's so much work one can do on strength training the body by focusing on Holding and Releasing. There's so much posture play available and ways to play with our form. In some ways I've always kind of had a natural inclination for this kind of thing.

It's fun in a lot of ways because it's very much a point of back to basics with body movements and awareness and really playing with the isolation of points/focus.

Like with the knee rehab it's sort of going way back into my early childhood and learning how to walk all over again. I realized I had a tendency to swing my one leg like a gate coming around...would only do that on my one size. I talked to my folks about this and asked them if they remembered anything like this from my childhood...and they said, 'oh you've always walked kind of funny"...and I was like, "huh"?. Anyways so I am back in my infancy and I am integrating my awareness as what does it mean to walk as me within each and every little movement of myself as body. What's kind of fun about this is that I am getting on the ground and into other positions, movement patterns that wouldn't be so typical and or regular - like crawling and just a lot more movements where I play with how I am connected to the ground.

The journey is really just beginning into the possibilities and ways to play with body movement exercises and patterns.

Before I had surgery I had got myself a chin up bar as a point I considered to be a very basic way in which I could support my body and just overall go spinal health and strength.

Here's a beginner video I came across for calisthenics that I think is pretty cool and a real good entry exposure into this whole world of body awareness.

When you think about it - it's kind of in a way bizarre that every single person isn't like a real master within their body - just completely aware of their parts and their abilities to move. Like so many of these 'natural movements' seem to become 'unnatural' as we age in this world of a sedentary lifestyle to some degree or another...and or perhaps focusing to much on superficial workouts where it's more about presenting a picture than it is about being strong as fuck.

Breathing awareness, I'm really exploring the pressure play within the isometric and calisthenics exercises - because it's like we are always all ways posture positioning ourselves no matter what the fuck we are doing wherever the fuck we are. So - in this awareness there's no excuse really to not be tuning, fine tuning the body as really strength training daily. I mean if we allow ourselves to work properly, to participate effectively - we just grow stronger. For myself it's really exposing to me how many moments in my living where I have taken a sort of back where I pressed on myself really hard with pressure positions to the point where it was mostly unconscious actions and not really so balanced in a way where I honor the care for my whole body 100%

CHEERS TO EXTRAORDINARY GAINS OF STRENGTH IN ALL WAYS POSSIBLE THROUGHOUT 2018

if you like this post steemit.jpg

FREE - UNIVERSAL BASIC INCOME - WEEKLY CRYPTOCURRENCY PAYOUT

manna-banner.jpg

MANNABASE

Sort:  

gymnastics is very good friends, I really like gymnastics.

i hope you are good now after that surgery does it pain often

pain is mostly gone now...just some minor stuff when doing some strength building exercises

Nice post with a personal touch. We all wish you a speedy recovery. I love calisthenics and have been using it since I was a teenage and couldn't afford a gym membership. A couple of months ago, I started incorporating a resistance band. I would encourage you to incorporate it in your recovery as well. Equally important is stretching, I'm trying to be discipline and stretch daily, that's an ongoing battle, but if I can incorporate stretching into my lifestyle it will pay off handsomely in the future. Thus, I made it a goal...on my bucket list to be able to do a full split (yes with my legs) in 3 yrs.

thanks for your comments and suggestions.

Me too - on integrating the stretching as part of my daily practice. From a trading/investing perspective I look at it as small gains I give/gift myself that have huge impacting potential over the long term within consisting in gifting myself these small gains daily :)

wow - full split - challenge accepted!

Any kind of surgery sucks but it sounds like your rehab is going better than expected! Although getting injured sucks... the body awareness that you gain while you health/ strengthen the areas around the injury are incredibly important to prevent all future injuries.

It sounds like you already picked up on ways to move your body and isolate only one muscle in the leg (that is not an easy thing to do!).

I had shoulder surgery two years back and when it finally healed I was much stronger and had a better understanding of the shoulder functions. You will gain so much knowledge as this healing process continues!

Thank you for sharing what you have already learned and I can't wait to hear what you will learn as the weeks go by! :)

Great post!

hey! Cool shares!

I find it so fascinating in becoming sensitive to the most subtle of movements within the body.

Really enjoying healing process.

cool to connect.

Nice work!! I am a physiotherapist and I like isometrics to rehabilitate somebody!.....did you go to a physiotherapist?

Thanks for the words of support!

yes I've been working with one :)

You have a cool profession :)

Thanks!! Remember always do your exercices at home I hope you rehabilitate well

It's good learning post for me.I had no idea about isometric and calisthenics exercises.Now i know something,in now a days different kinds of problems happening to our body.But if we keep our-self fit then we can avoid a lots of problem.We also have to know what to do and how to do?Unless it will gone in vain.Thank's for the post.@upvoted and followed

Turned the video off and commented from the middle, because the desire to see it again when the good post is finished with health. Thanks to sharing so much goodness. Continue A good post

wow...you create a great post...i like it..DQmaAFY3cYRvDZmJzXzZjPShphSdEyuxt8E8TCqj3HDgsRK.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16