You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fitness, healthy living, and long bike rides!

in #fitness7 years ago

Man, I wish I could ride my bike to work. I used to ride my mountain bike all the time back in college in TN. Now that was fun! Now, the closest thing I can do to keep track of my fitness is to carry around my fitbit. If I see I haven't done at least 10k steps, then I jump on my treadmill and huff-and-puff away.

One thing I like of the fitbit is you can do weekly challenges. And because I'm very competitive, I try to always outdo everyone else...so I end up pretty wasted by the end of the week.

Sort:  

Funny you mention the Fitbit challenges because I'm currently in one right now! It's definitely a great way to get yourself active. My friends and try add a little incentive to the challenges such as the winner gets treated to lunch/dinner.

I give you props for pushing yourself to stay active. The challenge nowadays is getting a workout in with all the hustle and bustle in our daily lives but it can be done! Jumping on a treadmill is a great start because any workout is a workout and the little that you can do each day builds up. Before you know it, you'll be exploring new ways to stay fit and you'll develop a variety of routines that will suit your needs. Sometimes I find myself walking into a gym only to walk out. Why? Heck I'll go straight back home, get some simple elastic/tension bands, some light to mid weights, and bring them to a local track and do some circuit training on the field. Again it's really all about finding ways to make it interesting and make it your own. Keep it up the good work and most especially keep tracking with your Fitbit! Being aware of your progress will only help you challenge yourself and diversify your routines. If you ever any fitness tips, feel free to reach out to me!

Man I'm telling you...it's hard once you graduate from college. I'm in IT (Computers) and I'm sitting on my butt 90% of the time while at work. I have to remind myself to get up and walk around a bit. But I'm trying to push myself to also hit the treadmill during lunch for a bit. Having fitbit challenges definitely encourages me to get moving, lol!

I totally understand where you're coming from. I'm in accounting and finance so I'm all too familiar with butt sitting all day every day lol. When lunch time hits I try to step out for a quick 10-15 minute walk, granting the weather permits. When I get home, I grab myself a quick light meal for some teompary fuel and I hop on my bike trainer or go out for a run. Again, all these little things that you can do throughout your day can add up. 10-15 minutes of something here and there and you top it off with at least a half hr to 45 min of your treadmill session next thing you know you've accumulated at least an hr of activity, which is pretty much average amount of time someone spends at the gym.

What it ultimately comes down to is a balanced diet. I always it's 20% workout 80% nutrition. You don't have to deprive yourself of food you love to eat, just take things in moderation and in proper timing. That way you won't have work any harder to burn anything off.

Ok, I'm determined today. Going to do 30 min on my bike for lunch!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63656.97
ETH 2473.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66