INTENTIONAL LIVING: FITNESS

in #fitness6 years ago

In college, I had friends that went to the gym every night. They were hyper focused on eating the right foods and getting their hour in every day. Me on the other hand was stuffing my face with french fries and ranch sauce in the dining hall. I considered that a meal. I know, I’m an idiot.

I never considered exercise because I was on the dance team in high school and continued my freshmen year in college. I somehow maintained my small figure throughout college. Once I graduated and somehow became an adult, I started thickening. I know, you guys are like, you’re a stick. But I started considering my health as a whole. I worked nights so my circadian rhythm was off, I wasn’t eating meals, and I was depressed. I was in a long distance relationship and my best friends lived in different parts of the U.S. I needed something to occupy my mind and body when I wasn’t at work. Exercise was the best option for me and I knew how much fitness is important not only physically, but mentally.

Workin’ on my Fitness, He’s my Witness
Working out is a commitment. Everyone is busy but you have to dedicate time to make for your self. A few hours a week is enough to get your heart rate up. I was in the same boat, I felt like I couldn’t go to the gym because I had to work, sleep, or I was too tired. The reality is…everyone is tired. The hardest step to working out is making the decision and coming to the gym/class. You will be amazed on how you feel after getting a sweat in.

Exercise is a natural anti-depressant. To quote my girl Elle Woods, “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy.” It’s a post work out bliss that everyone raves about. Endorphins are released when your body is in stress, essentially they are pain killers. So if you want to high off of something, I suggest exercising. Because not only does it get you up and moving and you also create positive thoughts. Your outlook in life becomes optimistic.

Exercise improves brain function. When exercising, you are stressing your lungs to breathe hard. Therefore more oxygen is introduced to the brain. Some fitness instructors teach you how to breathe while working out. Which is important, don’t hold your breath. Exercise can decrease your pulse and blood pressure which ultimately decreases your risk for multiple health conditions. Plus with more oxygen entering your brain, you become more focused and energized.

You may be thinking, I’m breathing really hard I can’t do this work out because it is hard on my heart. Well, if you’ve been a couch potato for a few months or years of course you will be huffing and puffing! You need to be consistent with your workout and learn to breath properly. In through your nose and out through your mouth. After a few weeks, your muscles will be adjusted and your breathing will not be as heavy. Obviously, if you’re having severe chest pain stop and call your doctor. When you start exercising you get familiar with your body and how it works. You will be able to compare what is right and wrong.

My Favorite Fitness Classes
I am no Crossfit beauty. I like classes where I don’t feel like I’m competing with other people. People can contradict me here, but during my first Crossfit class, I was too focused on other people judging me that I cheated the whole class. Therefore, I like to work on my own. But I admire those Crossfit babes. I don’t mind deadlifting though 🙂 I have listed my top 3 favorite workout programs maybe they are/will be your style too!

Yoga: Yoga is simple. It focuses on strengthening your body, increasing flexibility, and improving balance. It is a wonderful fitness class for anyone just starting out. You may think it’s easy until you have to balance on one leg. What I love about yoga is that it also focuses on breathing techniques. You have your own mat, you are not bumping into anyone (unless you fall over…don’t worry I’ve done that!) It is the perfect stress reliever!

Barre : This is my cheese sauce…aka my favorite workout. You don’t need dance experience, so don’t let the ballet barre intimidate you. Barre classes focus on isometric moves specifically on your butt, thighs, and arms. However, depending on what studio you attend they can offer cardio classes on top of barre. Which is amaze balls! The reason I love barre is because it is small movements that make big changes. I always leave class feeling sore. All you need is sticky socks and usually the studio will provide the equipment needed. Your muscles start shaking and burning. I love knowing that my body is changing.

[solidcore] : This is a new fitness craze that is hitting the workout industry. It is the same as barre where you focus on muscle groups throughout the class. It is a Pilates inspired, intense workout. It is slow controlled and resistance training. It is an experience that will rock your body. Seriously, the first time I took the class my body was like WHAT WAS THAT? [solidcore] has these platforms that they call [sweatlana] that essentially work your body like no other. Don’t be intimidated. It will become your best friend. If you want a workout that really stretches and challenges you to the max…meet [solidcore].

How Can I Be Fit Intentionally?
Little thought: When you live intentionally, think about how you are doing your body a solid if you work it out a couple times a week.

Take the stairs.
Take the scenic route to the cashier.
Try standing at your desk instead of sitting.
During your lunch break, take a walk or go to the gym.
Try yoga in the morning before your family wakes up.
Walk your dog instead of letting him loose in the back yard.
How do you incorporate fitness in your every day? What are your favorite work outs? How do you maintain your life and incorporating work outs? Do you have specific meal plans too?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44