Fitness Friday, Being specific, and why it matters.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness6 years ago

Specific goal setting is an incredibly important part of the fitness game. It’s a part that I notice a ton of people overlook. a lot of people want to have an awesome, strong body, and mind , but they don’t want to put in the work, or don’t want to learn how to do it. This I notice stems from a lack of priority, or direction Here are a few examples of bad goals!
Examples of Bad goals:
“I want to get ripped”
“I want to get big”
“I want to just get toned”

I’ve heard every single one of these goals, and I always ask them what those even mean. To some “fit” is being a marathon runner, and to others “fit” means being a bodybuilder. There is not basis in what it is, and it has no direction. Imagine hiking a mountain, and just saying that “I’m going North”. You have no idea if “North” will even get you to the top, or if your path will change to get there. I advocate very much for being specific

That’s when we get into SMART goals which stand for Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Reasonable, Time bound. The more well thought out, and specific your goals are, the more likely you are to achieve them. With saying that here are my goals.

• Achieve a 205 LB/93 Kg Overhead Press by June 18th (my birthday) by working overhead press 3 times a week and doing back work 5 times a week.
• Cut down to 165/ 74 KG by July 1st, 2018, by losing 1 Lb. a week through a daily 500 calorie a day deficit, and HIIT cardio. I will doing a recomp week every 3 weeks, to maintain strength. A recomp is where you maintain weight.
• Achieve a 500 LB /227 KG by June 18th, by working your deadlift twice a week, squatting twice a week, and doing back work five times a week.

Why do I want these goals? Well for starters my favorite lift is the Overhead press, nothing to me is more badass than lifting a heavy object over your head. It’s like when Bane lifted Batman over his head to signify victory. When I started lifting, it was a my dream to get a 200 LB Press! Now I find myself incredibly close to that!

I want to cut down because I've always been a bit bulkier for most of my lifting game. Now I don't mind being on the heavier side, I can eat more, lift more, and I also look bigger in clothing. However after Three and a half years, I think it's time I do a slow cut, and try to see what's past all the fat.

I think it's just awesome to pick up 500 LBS, and I"m really close to it. So why not!

Those are my goals for this year, and here are my current stats!

Bodyweight: 178 LB/ 80 KG

Overhead press One Rep Max: 195 Lbs./ 88 KG

Deadlift One Rep Max: 475 LBS/215 KG

I’m also putting in the bottom the comparison for the last picture I took at 178 Lbs. Every Friday I’ll be updating my Bodyweight every week on Friday. I will also be updating my new max attempts on March the 9th, and of course June 18th!

Like, Re-steem!
1/2repper Out!

Sort:  

Bienvenido a Steemit, estoy organizando un sorteo en el que regalaré $ 10, para participar aquí: https://steemit.com/lot/@carlososuna11/you-want-to-win-usd-10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54