Exercise is Out...Nutritious Movement is IN

in #fitness6 years ago

file (1).png

I might be the only occupational therapist in existence to encourage patients to stop exercising. IMHO, the old paradigm of exercise is in need of a new model. One that respects the body and reflects how we evolved as human beings. One that encourages function, flow, and fascial fitness. One that promotes optimal lymphatic, circulatory, and digestive system functioning instead of more restriction, dysfunction, pain, and stagnation.

In my field, as a "rehab professional"...Exercise is LAW!!! Even if the patient is bed bound, exhausted, or in an acute state of infection. Is this not the most back-assward thinking? When a patient is saying, "I don't want to exercise...I'm hurting...I'm exhausted"...or even "I'm dying!!!" We're trained to ignore them!!!! Or label them as "non-compliant"!!! I know...WTF????

I used to believe in that law. Until my adrenals sent me a signal to halt ALL physical (and mental) activity. When I was bed bound...I learned...the hard way...that...exercise can be very harmful to a healing body. And I teach my patients this...from personal experience...much to the dismay of my physical therapist colleagues...because they are faithful servants to the God of rubber mats and machines 🙏🏽

😉HEHE!!! Just Kidding!!!

file (2).png

But seriously...exercise can also be very harmful to anyone who is sedentary for the majority of the day. It can be damaging to go from sitting or standing in one position all day...to running, stair-climbing, biking, or lifting heavy objects FULL ON for a few hours. If you do this...you're very likely setting yourself up for some chronic pain, adrenal burn-out and degeneration down the road.

What I do promote is "nutritious movement." A term coined by Biomechanist, Katy Bowman, author of the book, "Move Your DNA". Movement that is nutritious is continuous, it engages our adaptive responses with variety, and it is dynamic and non-linear. Getting rid of your furniture...chairs, tables, bed frames, computer stations...is a good start to naturally engage your nutritious movement. Having "movement snacks" throughout the day is better than spending an hour in the gym. It is more natural and in alignment with how we evolved in nature. If you can incorporate purpose, novelty, and Nature into your movement practice...even better. Try hiking to gather herbs, or foraging for food. Why not walk to Walmart? Play on the monkey bars with your kids. Climb a different tree everyday for novelty. Get creative!

I also promote DEEEP rest...for those who are healing. This includes RADICAL self-care with breath work and body work to move the lymphatic system and bowels without over-taxing the body. When you have given your body enough rest...and your elimination channels are flowing...you will WANT to move! And it will become enjoyable...not just something you HAVE TO do.

A good place to start with preparing the body for dynamic movement is to rewild the feet and hands (i.e. take your shoes off and climb some trees). A huge part of the somatosensory cortex in the brain is devoted to these areas. Just check out the image below of the somatosensory homonculus. And while you are at it...don't forget your tongue, lips, and eyes. If you have to work at the computer for long hours, take breaks to look out the window at the scenery in the distance. To give your mouth nutritious movement, learn a new language, kiss more passionately, and play a wind instrument.

file (3).png

For those of you looking for a good dynamic work-out, or movement snack ideas, here are some that I have discovered along my path:

Hopping on boulders or river rocks
Gardening and pulling weeds
Playful sex
Spontaneous Dancing
Climbing trees and hillsides on all fours
Playing with kids on the playground

As always...these are simply insights...no absolutes...always do what works for you...and don't take my add-vice...try it for yourself :)

P.S. If you are looking for a more advanced nutritious movement challenge and adventure check out this video for inspiration. My beloved, Jake "Raw Utah", inspired me years ago to take my shoes off and find the local springs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=2&v=U93eYHrTiqg

Loving all of you sweet nutritious souls...

Pachee

Sort:  

your little boy is incredibly cute!

Yours is too 😉

movement for nutrition and health makes so much sense to me

thanks for the mention at the end.......beloved pachee! let's go hike the canyon this weekend!

This post has received a 14.13% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @rawutah. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You got a 28.57% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @rawutah!

Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .05 SBD to @brandonfrye with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to the bot for daily passive earnings. Learn more here

Resteem bot Service! Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Delegate STEEM POWER 1000 SP Or Any Amount Through v2.steemconncet.

Yes! I love Katy Bowman. I got rid of the furniture in my living room so that I would get down on the floor and play with my kitties!! Thanks for this article as a reminder for me.

Right on! I’ve wanted to host Forest Walks/Bathing, to the folkx I work on in Tech offices (chair massage). They are totally cooped up.
I also notice certain singers that go barefoot on stage, like Florence from ‘Florence and the Machine’ and like Patti Smith. I love that.
Thank you for inspiring me Pachee (and your beloved partner too, you guys rock!).
I shall rid of my extraneous furniture and walk barefoot in nature more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37