Pilates

in #fitness6 years ago

P8277496-1.jpg

Pilates, where do I even begin?

If you haven’t already heard of or have yet been introduced to Pilates, I highly recommend signing yourself up to a class, checking out a video on YouTube (there are loads of free videos for beginners) or even investing in downloadable programs.

I cannot begin to describe, how incorporating Pilates workouts into my fitness routine really has made a huge impact not only on my overall fitness, but also on my running. I’m sure there are few people will agree with me on this topic.

Developed by Joseph Pilates, it’s the safest form of isometric exercise that has been around since the early 1940′s. Used as an overall body conditioning method, Pilates helps focuses on toning, strengthening the deep abdominal, pelvic floor & lower back muscles, aligning the spine & controlling breathing.

Ever since engaging in the Pilates method a couple of years ago, I have found that in a short amount it has helped increase my stamina, allowing to push myself that little bit further. I can honestly say that without it, I would not have been able to successfully complete the 10km Twilight race in May of this year in under an hour. It also helps to center myself after a long day in the office.

I highly recommend giving it a go once, even taking a professional class to get your technique right at least. In the beginning when I first tried out pilates, I must say I really did struggle. I would continuously have to stop. However after a couple of months of repeating the exercises over and over, I barely noticed how weak I was in the beginning. If you find your only able to repeat the exercise 2-3 times, don’t be discouraged, this is a normal part of the process as you begin to awaken your dormant muscles. It really is a state of mind, so keep at it, you will begin to see a change in the shape of your body after 4 weeks. There are many types of pilates exercises that use additional equipment, so try them all out & find the one that fits you.

P8277509-1.jpg

If your short for cash this festive season & already own a 30cm fitness ball, why not try my favourite pilates fit-ball sequences below to help get you started.

#1 – Pilates 100 (Place the ball between ankles & knees on a 90 degree angle. Lift chin to chest in half crunch position. Arms straight out at hip height beating arms up and down. Breath in for 5 beats & out for 5 beats until you reach 100).

#2 – Rolling up & down (Laying flat on your back, place the ball between your hand above your head. Inhale – Roll up slowly and reach past your feet exhale. Inhale as you return to starting position and exhale).

P8277492-1.jpg

#3 – Single Leg Circle (Laying on your back, your right heel on the ball and left leg direcly above you. Both arms stretched out facing palms down. Inhale, circle the leg down in a clockwise position. Exhale as you return to starting position. Repeat this 10 times & in anticlockwise direction).

#4 – Double Leg Stretch (Laying on your back, in a faetal position with the ball placed on your knees & hands securing the ball. Inhale as your prepare, exhale as your extend your both legs out in the air at 90 degrees. Your arms holding the ball also extends back 90 degrees. Hold, inhale as you return to starting position. Repeat this motion 10 times).

#5 – Single Leg Kick (Laying on your back, holding the ball between your hands directly above your stomach. Left leg stretched straight out on the floor. Reach up to the ceiling and with the top part of your foot, tap the ball. Switch legs and repeat 20 times. Don’t forget to breathe).

P8277511-1.jpg

Sort:  

bilgi için teşekkür.Bana destek olursan sevinirim.

you teach me pilates ill teach you surfing

I love pilates and the single and the single leg circles are killer. I also think hundreds are excellent for building core strength.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99