Working Out With Will []------[] Intro PoststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness8 years ago

Hello all. I would like to start posting workout related posts including my favorite exercises, diets that I know about and have followed, my ongoing progress in the gym, and general workout advice.

Experience & Background

Here is where I lay out the reasons you should trust my workout advice. I have no intention about discussing things that I do not know or that I cannot do. Readers should justifiably want to know my background and experience. 

I have nearly 10 years of experience working out and lifting weights. My journey began in 2006 when I started lifting with the football team as I was preparing to play as a highschool freshman in the fall. I was instructed by the coaches on proper lifting techniques on most olympic lifts.  We focused on squats, bench press, and the clean and jerk. For the next four years I improved on these lifts for the primary purpose of being better at football (being bigger faster stronger). I also played lacrosse, which helped me gain better cardio endurance as I was a lineman in football (aka I didn't run that much).

In the beginning part of college I turned my focus towards power lifting. I increased my calorie intake and gained about 40 lbs of muscle and fat,  weighing in at 240 lbs with a squat of 495 and a deadlift of 515. These were my big lifts. Here is an image of the weights at Virginia Tech that I would usually work up to. This is 455 lbs. 

The latter part of college I turned my focus to hypertrophy, which is increasing the size of muscles through higher reps. This is what bodybuilders are aiming for (time under tension). I ran into some issues pushing big weights around all the time. Most powerlifters experience this as the muscles can handle the stress but joints, tendons, and ligaments can become worn out and can be prone to injury. 

It was at this time I reevaluated my goals in the gym. I decide that I wanted to focus on building the body I wanted. Creating something new with my mind. I was also tired of being fat. Everyone outside the gym would look at me and profiled me as just another fat person, little did they know I could pull 500 lbs off the ground. I wanted people to see my strength and respect the amount of work I put in. I have since dropped as low as 195 lbs and come up to as high as 215 lbs. I cycle my diets to continually progress. Sometimes my 3 month goal is to cut weight, other times it is to gain weight.

My little in my business fraternity also had similar goals. We started lifting together and pushed each other to new personal records and size gains. Having a workout partner is crucial for making gains in the gym. Here you can see us on the beach during spring break in 2014. 

I do have experience with workout programs like P90x. I completed the P90X program in 2010.

Currently I am still pursuing hypertrophy based goals. I focus on each part of my body individually and try to become bigger more muscle dense person overall. I do not subscribe to the new bodybuilding scene. Steroids are over used and the bodies are not proportionate or aesthetic. I like the bodybuilders of the past. Arnold had the right idea and mindset. His body (in his prime) is still one best physiques ever created. A current bodybuilder I follow subscribes to similar notions. Look him up. Calum Von Moger 

Steroids are something I will also focus on in future posts. I do not and have not taken roids, but I have friends that have. I have also not ruled out steroids in my future. There may be a time and a place, but that is not right now. I do not want to mess with my natural production of testosterone. If you take them in a scientific approach and are smart about it you can grow muscles immensely without much risk.  You can also use them improperly and end up in a world of hurt.  

I do not take steroids but I do take performance enhancing supplements. I am a big fan of pre workout supplements. They make working out more fun, they give you more energy, and can give you a slight edge in your overall progress. I do not however take a lot of protien shakes. I do every now and again, but it is not usually a staple for me. I get a lot of of proteins and vitamins in my regular diet. This is what the pros do.

While I focus more on building bigger biceps, triceps, and lats etc. I do not neglect strength lifts. Here is a video of me earlier this year deadlifting 420 lbs (sumo stance) for 3.

 Disclaimer: The advice on my Steemit blog MUST NOT be substituted under any circumstances for medical advice. It is mostly my opinion based on personal research and experiences. I am not a licensed professional. Contact your physician for professional advice. 


I hope you enjoyed my first post for the Working Out With Will  series.

Stay tuned for my favorite exercises, diets, my ongoing progress, and general workout advice.

The featured image was sourced from pexels.com under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44