Running then wine? Yes, please!

in #fitness7 years ago

2017 Livermore half marathon. A friend of mine mentioned that she was going to run this (told me there would be wine!) so I ended up signing up. Then somehow I convinced my now husband about a month before our wedding to run with me (well not actually with me- he could do the 5k and I would do the half marathon) BRIBE: there will be wine & beer at the finish! He took the challenge, and what a great race it was. So good in fact, I am already signed up for next year Sign up for 2018 I will be there!

I decided to take the race and break it down a bit, and let you know why you should take part:

Race Pros:

Course I am a firm believer of a nice flat, pretty course. This was just that. While I was not going for any record breaking time, honestly it was somewhat of a last minute add with some friends I still wanted to do well. It was a great course, with really supportive people along the way! You are running through the vineyards of Livermore really making you thirsty as you sweat. That wine is much more rewarding after running 13.1 miles!

Goodie Bag Now, I am normally not THAT excited by the medal at the end or any of the goodie bag items, but OH MAN. They got me!! When you finish you get a totally awesome wine stopper medal (which, yes, I have used) You get a lovely GLASS (actual glass) as well as wine tasting. I mean, AMAZING. The shirt left a bit to be desired, they only had men's sizing and no small's- but hey another sleep shirt!

FREE WINE & BEER Honestly this couldn't be first, but did I mention there was wine tasting after? Also, not just "a glass" like most races. NO they had vendors (about 10) who were pouring local beer & wine for us to taste. There were big names, and places I hadn't heard of. Incentive to run fast, because once everyone finished both the Half & 5K those tents got real crowded.

Race Cons:

Parking
At the start of the race, granted we didn't really get up THAT early. We gave ourselves about 20-30 minutes of a cushion to search, and we succeeded. But that seems like a long time to drive around. It was more along the lines that I think since this is a newer race, there are some minor things they need to work out. We did eventually park, and I didn't think it was THE WORST, but something to be improved upon for the future.

Waivers
Not something I'm sure anyone else noticed, but we are doing risk management a bit more at work so I get real nervous about waivers/and that sort of thing. I like to be asked for my ID before someone takes my card or hands me a packet. Here, this area was not really well trained?managed? Basically no one asked/cared about anything and anyone could have picked up a packet. For my friends this worked out well since they could not get there on time, we were able to pick up our own BIB's and 3 other females & one other male (I was ready with photo copies of their ID's and notes- not that anyone wanted it)

Overall thoughts, FABULOUS race. Most important is that course, and this was great! (no not the wine - #2) Also, you can't beat the weather in late March. It was clear, crisp and

Would I recommend it? ABSOLUTELY! They also just had a promotion for a discounted race for next year- sign up for 2018 and drink wine post run. It will be amazing.

This was such a great race, I decided to join in the 2017 Golden Gate Series with a run in August in Oakland & November in San Francisco. My Oakland review will be coming shortly!

Other Notes

Attire. I have considered myself somewhat of a "real" runner for over 10 years now. I am still learning each day, and trying to find ways, and many goals are still slightly feeling out of reach... cough BOSTON cough hopefully 2018!!

That being said, I have my RACE DAY staples. My pants are one of these series of Lulu (the only thing I do willingly spend that much money on at that store!) These pants are my favorite with the back pocket for gel/sport beans keys etc. Really, I think I rotate between the 3 pair, and I've had them for 5+ years, they still look amazing.

Other sites are the best deal

Shoes are a bit tougher as most runners know, once you find a good pair, it's hard to step out on them and switch things up. I have always been an asics girl, and this particular pair is my favorite. I found Amazon to actually have great deals asics are normally $150 in a running store. Sorry little running store, but when you burn through shoes you have to get a good deal!
I have the 22 version sitting in my closet, slightly afraid they just won't live up!

Asics Kayano 21

Happy Running everyone, I'll be back with my thoughts on the OAK half soon. Tie up those laces, and hit the ground running!

Sort:  

Nice... Cool!! Steem On!

Thanks, glad you got to read!

Congrats you see them. :) nice post.. you living your life to the fullest. i want to see more of your post. done following

Thanks so much!

running is a good exercise.

Yeah! Join in a race soon! Steem on!

Great! Nice race!

Thanks so much! It was fun, we will see about the others :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 64750.39
ETH 3148.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58