7 Day Running Challange - DAY 1

in #fitness7 years ago

As we all know, running is extremely beneficial for our bodies. But, it's the one exercise I really don't enjoy doing. I've been told before though, 'I probably don't like it because I'm not good at it'. Well, I agree 100%. I suck at running. Really, I do. When I say I'm going running, it's more of a fast-paced jog for about a minute and then my legs give out, breathing is difficult, and I walk for 2-3 minutes. I'm such a newb and seeing my boyfriend pass me up is frustrating. The early years in our relationship, I outran him!

So, why am I doing a 7 day running challenge?

I want to condition my body to get used to running, and improve speed and especially endurance. I want running to be a regular thing I do in my week. I want to be called a runner. Also... I need to be ready for a zombie apocalypse. My goal is 1 mile+ each day, 7 days straight. This won't be at a specific time each day because my schedule is always different. And only seven days because... my schedule is crazy.

I know what you might be thinking. 7 days; is that really enough time? I don't think it's enough to qualify me as a "runner", but it can improve my mile time by gaining endurance. I recently discovered Runner's Blueprint, a website filled with tips and tricks for runners of all levels. Browsing through, I came across Beginner Runner Tips – The Complete Guide to The Walk/Run Method. According to this article by a Mr. David Dack, I'm doing it right! My newb-ish beginner "running" (jog 1 minute, feel like dying, then walk for 2) is an actual method set to improve endurance and speed.

What I Need to Improve On...

From the little running I've done in my life, I've learned the one thing I must improve to excel in running is my breathing. When I'm running in colder weather, and trying to inhale through my nose, I get a good amount of oxygen, but my nostrils start to hurt. When it's warmer weather, I get less oxygen going in, and my nostrils hurt less. I'm sure my nasal airways are blocked, especially my right one, but I've never had it checked out before. (Side Note: I've been hit in the nose a few times in my life.)

If you're someone with a similar problem or just looking to improve your breathing during your run, you can check out this article on The 4 Keys to Proper Running Breathing. It goes into great detail of four different and helpful breathing techniques. Try them out and comment which technique worked best for you. I read this after my run earlier today, but I can try it tonight when I go again with my boyfriend, and post the update in my next blog.

I look forward to hearing what worked out for you and having a conversation :)

Sort:  

Good luck with your challenge!
To avoid difficult breathing reduce your pace. You don't have to run as Usain Bolt. Start slowly and after a week you will notice your improvement :)
Edit: When I am running I always breathe through my mouth, amount of oxygen increases a lot.

So breathing through your mouth... is that a better method while running? What do you think?

Good luck with your planning, exercise means good health, just take it easy so you won't take the risk of injuring yourself ~

Yes! Part of the Beginner Runner Tips guide I linked says the method I've been doing is actually good for decreasing the risk of injury. So far so good. I truly want to become a runner, but I know it's a lot of wear and tear on your legs.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00