50 Mile Trike Ride. Personal Record. -80lb Goal

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Imgur

💥 Woooo!!! 💥That's something nice to scratch off a bucket list aint it? Last week, I rode my trike all the way around the city of Long Beach, Lakewood, Downey, and tagged Whittier along the way. That's 50 miles of riding in a day. The best part is, I know I could do it again. The biggest hurdle to get past was needing a little more water to haul with me, because I sweat heavily.

Video

The second biggest hurdle, and I mean this seriously, is that I can't play music while I record video with my phone lol! Recording video is important for a trike ride, right? It feels important. Here's a little something I put together with the footage I recorded for your viewing pleasure.

Credit: My own video footage. Music is Diamond by BassNoize & Raphael Suntec discovered on FreeBackgroundMusic on Soundcloud

That piece was put together with Blender, an open source software of awesomeness for animation and video editing. Using Python, Blender is a user friendly editing platform for any level of user you happen to be. The only trouble is that there are a lot of options to weed through in order to find the user friendly means of production that fits you. It took me a day to learn the ropes from a few youtube tutorials and a day to put a nice vertical video together with it.

The Outfit

ImgurImgurImgurImgurImgur
Imgur
ImgurImgurImgurImgurImgur

Ok, so, most of this was just to avoid getting sunburned BUT I will confess I have fun messing with people who are utterly confused by a trike riding clown with an old security hat on. I get greeted with smiles, looks of confusion, even gang signs from teenagers. On that note, I DID have to promise my significant other that I won't ride at night anymore 😇. Seriously, who the hell teaches these young fools that open public spaces are the best spots to make an exchange? I know it's LA County and all, but they actually got to the bike trail by walking through bushes. Stay in the damn bushes if you're trying to hide, dummy! Geez! Sometimes I imagine if I were bulletproof, I'd take the time to talk some sense into these dudes... But I digress.

While my last trike ride post didn't make much steem on Steemit (pun intended) I've decided that I don't really care if my personal fight against my own fat tissue interests anyone. This effort of weight loss depends on making a long term lifestyle change. I'll admit it's a bit of grandstanding on my part, but if the effective method is to trick my own brain into doing the healthy thing, then pretending that others care is a small enough sacrifice of my personal integrity to be justified as a means of obtaining the desired end, to be healthy.

More to the point, I got to see my inevitable future earlier this year as my father passed. To be sure, he did a lot of the damage to himself by being too stubborn to even try to be healthy. Still, many of you reading this on Steemit understand all too well that life is random. It can come and go as quickly as a cryptocurrency can rise and fall in value. All that we can do for ourselves is improve our odds of living through the chaos. No one is in a better position to do that for me than me. That's just the fact of the matter.

Last Attempt Was A Failure

An additional reason why this achievement boosted my confidence is that this is my second attempt on this route. The first one ended in the middle of South Central with 2 leaked tires. Ugg, if you, dear reader, are considering getting into recreational cycling, do yourself a favor and insist on getting upgrades to your tires right off the bat. Get the more reinforced tires and ask them to apply some slime (preemptive fix-a-flat for your tire). Despite being cut short, I had done the majority of the ride before the tires deflated. Here's a the failed attempt and a shot I took of the situation at the time:
Imgur
Imgur

Since this last ride, I have been on a much anticipated vacation, which I will be posting about soon (SDCC 😵). As a consequence, I have not been able to maintain the dent in caloric intake that this trike ride did for me. That being said, there's still heart 💖 benefits and head benefits that were gained from the effort. The next opportunity I have to ride, I think I'll look at some OC bike maps and see where I could take myself next. I feel as giddy about adventuring on these bike paths as I have felt with exploring a map on every RPG I've enjoyed.

Lifehacks, advice, questions and feedback are all welcome in the comments below. If you enjoy this sort of post, please upvote and let me know in the comments. My hope is that weight loss talk and advice can be a matter of speaking through actions rather than overconfident words or woo hype. Good luck in your efforts to be healthy!

Image alterations were processed using the Prisma app

Disclaimer: The people and logos depicted here did not authorize, sponsor, or in any way associate with the creation of this post. These are my own independent observations in Long Beach.

Disclaimer to UpVote and Follow Swappers: I will not upvote or follow just because you did the same for me. What I will do is take a look at your work if you are respectful in your request for me to do so. If I like it, I'll up vote it. If I like you, I'll follow you. I only ask for the same in return. If I could, I would reject the upvotes and follows from swappers because those are insincere. Please read my work and get to know something about me that you like before you upvote or follow. The reason for this is that trading upvotes and follows without any respect for content is hacky. If you don't appreciate content, this is not a good space for you to be working in. You shouldn't be working in ANY entertainment space if you don't respect the content. Go back to scalping tickets on ebay or something. Just spare me your penny for a lie.

Sort:  

Top work mate. I'm planning on cycling the length of the UK next year. About 1000 miles. Nice to read other peoples achievements.

Thanks! And dang, way to leave my achievement in the dust at 1000 miles, lol. Actually, I have a cousin who managed to ride from Sacramento to Mexico with his best friend, riding the length of California. It took about a month I think. I remember getting the news that he might be stopping by my neighborhood to say, "Hi," but they just zipped right through.

Impressive - you must be in pretty good shape.

That's the objective. But, yeah, I still got a long way to go.

woww, incridible ride bro, strong spirit, i can not wait your other show @philosophist

Thanks. I shall post more of these efforts then.

50 Mile is really a lot!!! Congratulations! You want to prepare for some kind of competition?

Possibly. Trike riding is a growing community. If I find the opportunity to even compare with other locals, I'd be happy to take it.

Its very good that the community is growing. Keep sharing!

Wow this is really impressive. I am a spinning teacher I train lots of people who ride for miles and enter races. Keep up the great work

I've always had good luck with continental tires.

This is very impressive.

Thats impressive mate! Your content is of really good quality. Check out my last post I guarantee it will leave you motivated! It may help you to push for 55 miles!!

This is amazing! I've always thought about doing a long distance cycling challenge. This is definitively motivating to see you do this!

Thank you! It's important to note that for me, the trike makes all of the difference. There's cyclists who pass me up all the time and there's beach cruisers rode by healthier individuals that I pass up a lot too.

The point is, yes, push yourself, but do what works for you and don't get discouraged if you are stuck only being capable of doing a half hour of riding in a day. The trike was a heavy investment and it was given to me by the VA (they don't get everything wrong). I wish you the best of luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51