Why bench is my least favorite lift!

in #fitness7 years ago

Hey Steemians!

It's bench day!

Alot of people's favorite day.. mine? Not so much haha. It's definitely my weakest lift but that's pretty much my own fault.
Before I got into fitness I skateboarded for 16 years!


This was all years before I quit, at the height of my skill lmao
Source: https://www.youtube.com/user/Jew45

I quit about 3 months before lifting but right before I quit I had pulled my shoulder. It was one of the deciding factors, kind of.
So I had that tweak, then when I was first lifting, the guy showing me the ropes was really into just trying to build a strong bench more than anything else (your average gym "bro") so we were benching alot, and going heavy every time. I will say this, I absolutely got strong pretty quick. I benched 275 after about 6 months of lifting. But, it came with a cost. My shoulder was a casualty of that lift and I ended up not benching anymore for almost 2 years.

But!

I'm getting back on the horse, I've done alot of rehab and what not to try and make it better so we're easing back into benching heavier.

OK warm up!

Didn't need to do anything to crazy since it's bench day

image

Bench sets, again this first three weeks will be the "lightest" so the top set was 205lbs for 4 or as many as possible, which from here on out I will just say "4+".


205 - 4

Since I'm doing more of a powerlifting style program, I'm gonna try and stick to those kinds of lifts so trying to get away from touch and go reps all together. I think if I'd done touch n go, I could have done 5, maybe 6 reps but again, trying to do everything proper from a powerlifters aspect.

image

Accessory work today is a superset again, which is a reoccurring theme in my training
I think I could have gone heavier on the pendlays, so I'll remember that for next time.

image

OK so I've never done those, and I actually got more rounds than I had anticipated! At first it wasn't so bad but the last round was brutal trying to get 12 reps before the time ran out. I only had 5 seconds to spare so I knew round 7 was out of the question. After I finished I guess the lung fatigue kicked in because I was suckin air immediately, holy smokes.
Fun, nonetheless!

Alright everyone, thanks for sticking with me! Tomorrow is a rest day and then Saturday is squats!
Have a great day!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42