Hump Day Yoga/Strength Training!

in #fitness7 years ago


Happy Hump Day Steem!!

So I wanted to write about my fitness journey so far! I wasn’t working out that hard this winter. I got a nice “winter” coat and started to feel it in the spring. I know the pic below doesn’t seem “bad” but I had no stomach definition and I was not feeling good about myself.

I decided to dive into a membership and join a local gym. I hate the initiation fee nonsense and sometimes their monthly fees are just too expensive. (Side note to those looking: best time to join a gym is summer time – usually never have an initiation fee to get people to join) I am so glad I did it! Took me a few weeks to really push hard at the gym but I believe it is absolutely paying off! My motivation was this pic I took last spring!

My Routine in a nutshell: Cardio in a fatburn zone – so high incline/resistance on treadmill or elliptical. I started slow at 15minutes and now I go for 25 minutes hard as I can 12incline and 3.5mph on tread and on elliptical 6 resistance. I am usually sweating intensely by the end and move onto weights.

Free Weights with 15lb weight:
- Bicep curls 15reps/3sets
- Shoulder press 15/3
- Triceps press 15/3
- Calf press 25/3
- Squats 15/3
- Alternating dumbbell lunges 12/3
- Kickbacks 20/3

*Crunches, leg lifts and other abdominal workouts as well

I switch it up and use machines for quads, lat pull, and back thigh exercises too. After I try to make time to stretch after my muscles are warm. I am working on doing the splits again! Pic below is me mid stretching and shows my problem areas mostly arms and thighs hold the fat on my body. I am toning these areas over time and can’t wait to see the difference!

The biggest reason I got back into fitness is realizing how much strength it does take to pull a motorcycle off a trailer or balancing it as I bring it up the trailer. Even when I crash and have to pick the bike off the ground requires so much strength. This is why my focus is around free weights and working out my arms/legs often. Pic below is me loading - haha see the struggle and focus on my face! I have dropped it off the trailer before >.<

I will keep posting my other hobbies and keep you updated on my fitness! Sometimes I get overwhelmed by how many interests and hobbies I have but writing about them is actually really fun because it reminds me why I enjoy each hobby. It is also never about having time for fitness or things you love it truly is about making time!

Stay Healthy Steemers! It is worth the effort <3

Sort:  

Hard work pays off! Good for you!

Yes it does! Thank you :) !!

Hope your fitness gets you the results you want and from looking at the pictures you posted, you're quite fit :)

Thank you! @shango I appreciate the support!

Nice post!
Personally I can relate since I had to start working out again to gain strength and stamina for work since it involved a lot of manual labor.

Good luck with your fitness journey and I hope that you reach your goals!

@king-enzo That is tough especially when you're already tired from the manual labor! Hard in the beginning but so worth it once your body starts to gain that needed strength!

Thank you very much and I hope you do as well!

Highly Appreciated
Fitness second name is Real life

@moony do you take any supplements?

@mrsj Nope I don't - if I know i may miss a meal after a good workout I try to get a protein shake in but not on it every single day. The blender bottles suck at getting cleaned and I hate the smell and texture of drinking them haha!

Nice body!

#yeahshesquats

really well done on the core and the booty. That doesn't just happen. I am a guy, and I am really flat-assed, I have no ass. So I am hoping my squats gives me at least a little booty.

Thanks for the tips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98