Fitness for life. A workout journal. #2 Legs day.

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Legs, legs, legs, never skip leg day.

Legs are key.

Strong legs are the key to a fantastic physique.
My knee has been feeling good after my leg sessions recently so I am happy to keep moving up the weights when I can. I had some DOMS last time out which I haven't had since I switched to a plantbased (vegan) diet 3 years ago. I think this might have something to with not eating as many bananas as I was. I think I remember reading a piece about magnesium and DOMS and as bananas are a heavy weight in the magnesium category this might just hold water. As today was leg day I will monch my way through a couple of them and a few more to see if there is a difference in my DOMS. The fact that my diet contains lo inflammation causing foods such as dairy could also be a big factor in my ability to dodge DOMS. The experiment continues!


On my workout days I get up just before 6 am I typically workout from about 6:20 to 7:45 this gives me a 10 min warm up and about 5 mins stretching on each side of my 1 hr 20 min session. I always feel like I could go longer but I think that the shorter more intense session works best for me. So on to my session. A little note to say I use Olympic a 7 ft barbell @20kg. On my rest periods between sets I will do some type of core work. I mean who doesn't love a plank for a rest?

Very happy to get to a higher weight on this, my knee is feeling good too.

Exercise Weight Reps
Barbell Squat 60 12
Barbell Squat 80 12
Barbell Squat 80 10
Barbell Squat 90 10

I dont have any extra plates to add in on this so I will have to get more or change to a barbell lunge

Exercise Weight Reps
Dumbbell Lunge 27kg Each hand 14
Dumbbell Lunge 27kg Each hand 14
Dumbbell Lunge 27kg Each hand 14

Happy to get the extra 10kg on this lift

Exercise Weight Reps
Smith Machine Toe Raise 120kg 20
Smith Machine Toe Raise 120kg 20
Smith Machine Toe Raise 120kg 20
Smith Machine Toe Raise 120kg 20
Exercise Weight Reps
Leg Extensions 50kg 15
Leg Extensions 50kg 15
Leg Extensions 50kg 15
Leg Extensions 50kg 15

This will need to be increased next session.

Exercise Weight Reps
Seated Leg Curl 40kg 12
Seated Leg Curl 40kg 12
Seated Leg Curl 40kg 12
Seated Leg Curl 45kg 12

I will go to 45 on all sets next time out.

Exercise Weight Reps
One Leg Donkey Calf Raise Body weight 20
One Leg Donkey Calf Raise Body weight 20
One Leg Donkey Calf Raise Body weight 20
One Leg Donkey Calf Raise Body weight 20

Up 10kg on this exercise today too.

Exercise Weight Reps
Barbell Standing Calf Raise 120kg 15
Barbell Standing Calf Raise 120kg 15
Barbell Standing Calf Raise 120kg 15
Barbell Standing Calf Raise 120kg 15

From looking at the tables above I can see that I should hold on some new weights and increase some others.

Image SRC... Thats not me.


Following my session I had one of my high protein smoothies as detailed in my previous post. So I dont really need to go into that again. I Finally took my stats too. Body weight 86.5 KG, 36.6% muscle mass, 21.2% fat. I knew I was in and around 20% BF by how I look naked... Oh matron!I am happy enough at this BF level, and when it comes towards the summer I will push to lean out. Although as we are looking to move then I am not sure how I will do this just yet. But I will give it my all.

If you would like you can vote for my witness here https://whaleshares.io/~witnesses I am in the list but you can also go to the bottom of the page and type in moonunit and click "share". You can read my witness post HERE!

Made by - @moonunit

If you are interested in our vegan curation please use the #thatveganwhale and follow @that-vegan-whale.

Sort:  

I love squats!!!

Squats 4 life. Possibly one of the best exercises we can do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80