You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Supplements Vs Food? Which is better?

in #fitness6 years ago

I tend to only take supplements when they are recommended for a specific deficiency. For example, a couple of years ago, I was diagnosed with very low iron and potassium and magnesium. I took supplements as recommended for about a year; but now, I follow some dietary recommendations to maintain my potassium and magnesium.

As for my iron deficiency, that was found to be caused by a low blood count when I had a recent medical crisis. While I was in hospital, they gave me a 350ml transfusion and two intravenous iron infusions (I’m actually trying to find a hematologist who’s covered by my insurance for a third infusion). I’m very anemic, but the doctors have told me NOT to take iron supplements because there could be health dangers with the infusions. Supplements aren’t always beneficial and, like anything else, should not be consumed without a doctor’s consultation – especially if you are already in care for chronic illnesses.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this precious and warm comment. Stay blessed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58