Deciding which exercise program suits you best

in #fitness6 years ago

squats-lady.jpg

I see a lot of articles about the most “effective” or “efficient” form of exercise. These often focus on pretty intense forms of exercise, like high intensity interval training (HIIT). The focus of these articles are usually either that this type of workout will give you more benefits than your other forms of exercise (“using HIIT in resistance training could be the key to supercharging your strength gains“), or that the exercise will give you a similar benefit in a lot less time (“A hot new type of workout you can do in under 10 minutes is gaining traction, and scientists are into it“).

However, in my opinion most people don’t really need to ask themselves whether their workout is maximally effective or efficient. Because most people don’t exercise.

If you are considering changing your workout, or starting a new exercise program, the most important question to ask yourself is this:

Am I willing and able to do this exercise program for at least 12 months?

Preferably you’d like to pick an exercise program that you think you’ll be able to keep up indefinitely, but 12 months is a pretty good starting point. If you look at an exercise program and don’t feel there’s a good chance you can maintain it for at least 1 year, then it’s just not going to have any meaningful health impact over the long haul.

First of all, this means that your exercise program should ideally be something that you enjoy, or at the very least tolerate. This is the reason why I am pretty ambivalent about HIIT and other forms of intense exercise for the general public. They are great exercise, but only if you actually do them. And no matter how efficient it may be, people like my parents aren’t likely to actually enjoy doing HIIT, or any other form of high intensity exercise. That’s not to take anything away from HIIT – it is a really good way to improve your fitness, and I do it fairly often – but if it doesn’t sound like something you’d enjoy, then just look for something else that sounds more appealing.

Beyond simply enjoying an activity, being able to maintain an exercise program for 1-2 years (or longer) requires that you consider several other issues as well:

Can you afford it?
Do you have time to do it on a regular basis?
Is it available in your community?
Do you have the skills/equipment needed to participate?
If you can’t fit the activity into your lifestyle, it’s just not going to be sustainable.

This is why I (and many other exercise researchers) are such big fans of walking. It is affordable, relatively easy to fit into your schedule, and requires very little skill or equipment. It’s a lot less efficient than HIIT, but a whole lot better than nothing.

Follow me for more top posts on health and fitness.

Sort:  

I'm a former fitness instructor and I totally agree with you. These high intensity workouts are great for losing weight but most people find them to hard and not much fun. I feel people are more likely to stick to a basic aerobic class or a 30 min walk. People are also less likely to injure themselves through using poor form by trying to rush or push themselves to far. Many are just not fit or healthy enough for these kinds of exercises. These exercises can be dangerous for those with health conditions, over weight and obesity.

hi can you up vote for upvote.

Great. I do yoga every morning. And i enjoy it with music. It's totally amazing...

Oh. This is such a self enlightening tip. I usually start an exercise regimen but couldn't afford to continue it in a 12 month basis. So,I ended up going back to my baseline weight. I will try doing a daily walk as you've mentioned in this post. Less hassle and will not entail any cost. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on exercise.

I have started "rucking" (hope i spelled that right). It is basically just adding extra weight I carry to my walks. I put 40 pounds of sand into a trash bag. Then put 2 more trash bags over the first filled with sand. I dropped all of that into my backpack and go hiking on local trails. It's amazing how more intense my hike/workout is. Give it a try I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

I enjoy this post...The very information I have been looking for on fitness

I love Yoga because is good for health

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45