1000 Step Challenge! - Training for the Inca Trail!

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)


This is Not Recommended if you Need to Walk Afterwards


My wife and I are preparing for a trip to Peru in December where we'll be hiking the Inca Trail. We've never done this before but have been told to expect tough terrain along with the effects of high altitude.

It's hard to train for high altitude in Australia but we can definitely prepare ourselves for challenging terrain. So for the next few months we'll be spending a lot of time at the 1000 Steps in the Dandenong Ranges which are on the eastern side of Melbourne. It's an extremely beautiful place which makes the exhausting climb a lot more bearable.

Today we did 3 laps of the steps, and plan to increase this number by 1 every time we visit (until the number becomes completely unreasonable that is). And once we're doing the steps comfortably, we'll be wearing weighted vests for the climb (I wonder how my knees will handle this...). It's fantastic training, but generally results in us falling in a heap on the ground afterwards.

If you live in Melbourne and are up for a challenge, hit me up and I'll do the steps with you!


!steemitworldmap -37.8891775 lat 145.3173835 long 1000 Steps - Dandenong Ranges D3SCR


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi Mazzle,
That sounds exciting! I did some altitude hiking in Guatemala in my younger (fitter) backpacking days. The fitness helped but didn’t stop me feeling dizzy from lack of oxygen. I got there in the end though. Slow and steady’s The key.

Yep. We’re expecting the altitude to be the real challenge. Improving our fitness is mainly to help with the actual hiking which is also expected to be quite challenging.

Apparently coca tea helps with altitude sickness so we’ll be drinking a lot of that. :)

Wow!! THIS is exciting! And I loved the video. I'm going to have to try this DTube thing...

Yeah I'm playing around with it at the moment to see how well I can do there. I still haven't really found a decent topic to make videos about but it's fun learning how to compile and edit videos. :)

it's fun learning how to compile and edit videos

That is an involved process right there... My son-in-law is a YouTube star (750k subscribers!) and he spends many hours editing his videos every day. I'm going to look into all of this, though. It looks pretty cool!

Wow. 750k is amazing. He’d definitely be worth getting some pointers from.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mazzle
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=xoy0y0qq


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I see you are very new here. A simple word of advice; avoid single word responses to people’s posts. It suggests you didn’t read or watch the material and are just commenting to try and get reward and followers.

Also do a post under the introduceyourself tag. That way people will get to know who you are.

If you need any help feel free to ask.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59965.71
ETH 3286.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36