Intermittent Fasting and Ketogenic Diet - It's Working

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

fasting.jpg

I gave up trying to lose weight years ago. I just wanted to keep from gaining too much weight too quickly. If I was able to "keep the creep" to between 2-5 lbs per year, I was happy. Many years that wasn't working either.

Mind you - I have always exercised. Sometimes not as earnestly as at other times (I spent a year using an app called "Fitstar" featuring about 10 minutes of bodyweight exercises a day.)

My first clue that the whole "calories in, calories out" wasn't the whole picture came a few years ago when I got serious about my blood sugar. I used an online program called "Beyond Diet" to get some control over my blood sugars and, as my blood sugar came down, I noticed my weight did too. (I also noticed that my gums didn't bleed as badly.)

The problem with Beyond Diet was that my wife just couldn't wrap her head around it.

Then, in February of 2016, a friend sent me the link to the podcast called "Fasting talk with Jimmy Moore and the Doc" (http://ketotalk.com/). I began a process toward eating a ketogenic diet (progress, not perfection) and soon my wife began looking into it too. She has figured this out and has jumped onboard with me.

January, 2017 Jimmy Moore began a new program called Fasting Talk, (http://www.fastingtalk.com/). My wife and I slowly began intermittent fasting (we have an eight hour window each day when we eat all of the food we will eat for the day. The remaining sixteen hours we have only water or coffee.)

This week we did a 36 hour fast as well.

She now weighs the least she has weighed in 18 years.
I weigh the least I have weighed in 20 years.

More importantly, my blood glucose levels are nearing normal ranges and have been within target ranges every day for two weeks. And that without taking metformin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84