Running a 5k With No Training

in #fitness6 years ago

Call me crazy but I enjoy doing this. Running has never been a go to exercise for me, and when my friends talk me into running a 5k I never end up training for it.

Yes, that is probably a bad idea and could be sowing seeds of failure - however, it has worked so far, lol.

The last 5k I ran my average mile was about 8.5 minutes. Not great, and yet low enough that I didn’t feel like I had to start an excessive cardio routine.

My goal is certainly not to compete with the run times my brother keeps for his Marine training - that is a whole other level.

The one thing we do keep each other accountable for is our training time in the gym. Whether that is Olympic lifting or just regular mobility exercises, we make sure that we are being wise stewards of the bodies entrusted to us.

That probably sounds counterintuitive to not training for a running event - I wouldn’t disagree with you completely.

Yet, what we have found in the few years we have worked with the CrossFit methodology is that when you take care of the basics the other skill sets fall into place.

There are principles of movement and discipline that will always translate into success in other areas.

To me, that speaks volumes for any skill we wish to learn or any person we wish to build a relationship with. There is an integrity to success that is always present, and not having that integrity nearly ensures that success will allude you.

Hopefully that doesn’t turn out to be fortune cookie wisdom when I run tomorrow morning, lol. I’ll let you know how it goes.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

time is on your side, lydon - I never trained for anything when I was under forty - now I train for walking the dog, lol

Lol, Abbey does look like she enjoys a good walk or run.

"The last 5k I ran my average mile was about 8.5 minutes."

I am happy when that is my mile time for one mile!

Ha ha. Yeah a 5k. Kari has done a few and she wants me to do one. I actually use to run Cross Country many moons ago. Man. I use to be able to run. Nice to see you are doing it for fun. Takes a lot of pressure off. Good luck!

Thank you! Supposed to be nice and cold in the morning which is the kind of weather I prefer for running.

I’m sure your kids keep you running around to catch them.

Well done Lydon, any exercise is a good idea.
Average walking speed is about 4 mph so doing a mile in 8.5 minutes is pretty good going.

Thank you, @molometer. I beat that average this morning so I am feeling pretty good indeed.

I have fun reading your article, you really have to be crazy, ha ha ha, Thank God you have been able to tell us your experience and now after you must be still recovering, you must continue your career to the moon in steemit. Receive my recognition. Affectionate hug @ lydon.sipe

Haha, thank you, Felix. :)

when does it come up?

It has become a yearly race in our area.

we have to keep fit..

You got a 1.32% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @lydon.sipe!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

it will be like going to the moon :D

fitness is very useful for mans body...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65