My Powerlifting/Weight Loss Journey: New Personal Record for Bench Pressing

in #fitness6 years ago

PR_book__98553.1366826093.1280.1280.jpg

Today I set a new personal record for bench pressing today = 110 lbs, 35 lbs away from the two 45 plates and according to my "weight" I am stronger than 24% of female lifters in your age group . As I am lifting heavier weight, my mind messes with me from lowering the bar to my chest.

It's a fear I hope to overcome in my powerlifting journey as I gain confidence in my body's naturally acquired ability with the strength training. Insecurities about my weight held me back and I still feel that insecurity carry on to my strength training. I've gone through this personal growth phase these past three months of constant job rejections but I learned to channel that pain into lifting heavy weights.

I also accomplished using 30lb dumbbells for both the Incline Dumbbell Press and Dumbbell Press. I am still indecisive of when am I going to compete in a powerlifting competition either in May or September.

I am a woman, I embraced my inner and outer strength within myself. I am tired of reading why women are so against lifting. Honestly, society's standards of the perception of the perfect skinny body for a woman should change with more women confidently sharing their deadlifts, squats, and bench pressing with REALLY heavy weight on Instagram. I walk taller, straight, and more confident in myself now, maybe that has to do with all the back exercises. These women that powerlift are badass and I am now a part of that She Lifts and powerlifting women movement. Its an empowering feeling that I want to share to all women reading my powerlifting posts.

My powerlifting journey is now my weight loss story. Strength training increases your metabolism and you are burning off calories after you workout after hours because of your muscle gain. You learn about clean eating and to cut out all of the sugary drinks by replacing it with water. I hate that its taking time and a lot of patience to lose pant sizes, but it already happened to me 3 months into my powerlifting journey.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lisanoethnv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You published 4 posts in one day
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99