March 5 2008 Variety day - Challenge completed - 148 reps

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

This is the video that got me hooked on Indian clubs about 5 years ago, using the clubs is the best thing I've ever done for my shoulders.

Variety day

Warmup

10 minutes Indian club swinging
Commando rocking
FTW squats
Butterfly hip flows

Training

Turkish get ups (TGU's)

16kg 1R, 1L, 20kg 1R,1L 24kg 1R, 1L, 28kg 1R, 1L, 32kg 1R, 1L

Diagonal pullovers

16kg 8R, 8L, 20kg 6R,6L 24kg 5R, 5L, 28kg 3R, 3L, 32kg 2R, 2L

Floor presses

16kg 8R, 8L, 20kg 6R,6L 24kg 5R, 5L, 28kg 3R, 3L, 32kg 2R, 2L

Press to shoulderstand

6 reps

Kettlebell bottoms up press (BUP)

16kg 8R, 8L, 20kg 5R, 5L, 24kg 3R, 3L

One arm chinup negatives

2R, 2L

Cooldown

5 minutes Indian club swinging

148 reps total

Notes

Today was one of those days where I really didn't feel like following any regimented format, so I just had a bit of fun and practiced a few skills. I had a plan to do some TGU's and practice at least one gymnastic skill and it just happened organically really. I find a day like this where I don't set any boundaries is like a reset in some respects, it gives me a break and helps me come back with more enthusiasm the next time I train seriously.

The challenge is @steemmatt's 100 rep a day challenge
Matt's 100 rep challenge

khufu.png
Banner artwork by @bearone

Gif source

Sort:  

Cool workout @khufu.

Thanks Blackcaviar10!

Cool!

If I wanted to start with Indian clubs what size/weight should I start with ?

Google is telling me they come in different sizes.

I'm really unfit, I'm an office worker and I haven't done anything physical for years.

Thanks for your reply.

It's recommended that you should start with a fairly light set of clubs to learn the movements. So for most people a set where each club weighs 1 pound is a good starting point. For someone with an athletic background or an experienced weight lifter 2 pound clubs would be a good starting point.

I have several much heavier sets but I still use my 1 1/2 pound clubs more than any other set.

Indian clubs are not meant to be a weightlifting type of exercise they are about fluidity of movement and dynamic flexibility. They are a perfect compliment to heavy linear type movements like weightlifting.

If weightlifting was considered a yang style exercise program Indian clubs could be considered a yin style and they a balance that is needed to keep elbows wrists and shoulders loose and supple after all that heavy work in the gym.

Indian clubs - The guy in the video is really good. I tried them a few years ago when in India. It takes some practice, that's for sure. I think you are underestimating the number of reps with the Indian clubs. It's a great exercise routine.

P.S. WHo is singing in the background "I heard it through the grapevine"?

There is definitely a steep learning curve for some of the movements with Indian clubs. I had to slow a few youtube videos down so I could learn them and I did manage to whack myself in the back of the head a few times when I first started. It's a neuromuscular challenge like nothing else I'd ever encountered.

I don't count the reps with the clubs in my training blog, I'd probably do about 50 -60 reps per minute with the lighter clubs, so maybe I'd do around 250 reps in 5 minutes. They are very easy reps though, so I'd feel like I was cheating on my rep count if I included them in Matt's challenge.

& I'm not sure who singing in that background of that film clip - sorry.

Why not ask Matt what he thinks. I would say that 5 minutes straight of Indian clubs might equal 50 reps? At least 25. You're probably building up a good sweat.

Yeah it certainly gets me warmed up. I'm happy to leave it how it is for now though and not count reps.

What is a FTW squat?

Thanks for your question Leonardo.

A FTW squat is a Face The Wall squat, it's a bodyweight squat that I do facing a wall for spine and hip mobility. The idea is to try to do a squat and touch the floor with your fingers while your toes are as close to the wall as possible. It seems very simple but most adults can't do a good one without falling over backwards.

You got a 1.67% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @khufu!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68493.85
ETH 3838.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64