Jan 22 Gymnastics skills practice Challenge completed

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Warmup

10 minutes Indian club swinging

Training

GMB Parallettes one full flow
V-sit hold to tuck Planche holds * 5
Planche leans 8, 8, 8, 6 seconds
L-sit skin the cats * 8
Straddle press to shoulder stand on parallettes - 5 reps
Front lever static holds 10, 8, 8, 6 seconds
Back lever static holds 8, 8, 6, 6 seconds
Ring dips bodyweight @83kg + 8 kg - 8 reps
Ring dips bodyweight @83kg + 12 kg - 6 reps
Ring dips bodyweight @83kg + 16 kg - 3 reps
Towel assisted 1 arm Ice cream makers 4L, 4R, 4L, 4R
Negative muscle ups on rings - 4 reps
Ice cream makers 8 reps
Explosive decline pushups feet on the back of a sofa hands on parallettes 16 reps.

131 reps

Notes

Today was one of those days where nothing seemed to go right all day. I really didn't feel like training after today but I'm glad I did. It turned out to be a productive training session and I improved upon a few of the skills I've been practising, so it worked out in the end.

Edit: I updated this post to add the straddle press to shoulder stands I forgot when I originally made the post.

Sort:  

Dude, you make me feel so unfit! That, and your upper-body strength to bodyweight ratio is better than mine is ever going to be. Inspiring nonetheless.

Thanks @samueldouglas !

It's mostly an overcompensation mechanism though. I've spent a lot of time where I couldn't walk over the last twenty years and all I could manage was upper body work.

When I had functional knees and was racing track cycles I used to excel at squats and deadlifts but I just can't do them any more. So I've gone from one extreme to another.

Awesome workout @khufu

Solid workout, that warmup looks good for core strength. Something I need to work on.
Stuff it I'm going to have a core day from now on and throw that into my workout :D

I never really thought of the Indian clubs as a core workout @thevillan , they are more for getting the shoulders and wrists warmed up before the work on the parallettes. They do hit the abs a bit though.

The work on the rings and the parallettes hits the core pretty hard though. V-sits, L-sits, levers and ice cream makers give the core a good once over, even though I do them mostly for shoulder strength and stability.

Yeah holding the legs up like that would work the core a far bit. I will have to google some of those other exercises over the weekend as I'm not familiar with them.

I will be hitting a core day tonight, you have inspired me to focus a bit more on core :)

Nice training session! Training gymnastic-skills is just awesome

Thanks @booster916 !

It's a different approach to most other training in that sets and reps aren't really important it's more about time under tension and skill development.

I am slowly getting back to where I was before my last back injury.

I am an gymnast too so we understand each other ^^
I was also injured due to a crash in a motorcyclerace but I'm also getting back. WIll post a few of my training seessions in the future here at steemit

I'll look forward to reading about your training @booster916

I added this to my fitness challenge post. If you could please provide your rep count and link on each post, that'll help get you some good exposure and make sure I don't miss your reps.

No problem @steemmatt
Done

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67