Fibonacci training - Challenge complete

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Fibonacci sequence training

I've been pioneering a training system for over ten years that's adaptable and can be used for a variety of sports. My main focus right now is for several BJJ practitioners who I've been training for the last 8 weeks or so.


The BJJ boys are not doing the full Fibonacci sequence. I have them starting at 8 reps (unweighted) and following the sequence down to 2 reps with much lighter weights. After they get to the two rep sets they stop and don't work their way back up the Fibonacci sequence like I do in my training below.

All of the guys are quite strong and could do 10 pullups or more before I started with them. My main goal is to increase their strength levels as efficiently as possible and keep them fresh for their BJJ training and competitions. The BJJ guys aren't following this routine but I do have them on a Fibonacci based format for their all of their training except the TGU's I have them doing.

This was my training today, the BJJ guys are doing much less work than this. The weights used are NOT based on any Fibonacci formulas, the reps follow the Fibonacci sequence and the weights are scaled to each individual client.

Warmup

10 minutes Indian club swinging

Training

13 bodyweight pullups @ 80kgs bodyweight
8 Weighted pullups - bodyweight + 20kg
5 weighted pullups - bodyweight + 32kg
3 Weighted pullups - bodyweight + 44kg
2 Pulley assist One Arm Chinup (OAC) 8kg assistance
1 Pulley assist OAC 6kg assistance
1 Pulley assist OAC 8kg assist
1 Weighted Chinup bodyweight + 68kg
2 Weighted Chinups bodyweight + 52kg
3 Weighted pullups bodyweight + 44kg
5 Weighted pullups bodyweight + 32kg

20kg Kettlebell C&P - 13R, 13L
24kg Kettlebell C&P - 8R, 8L
HSPU on parallettes - 5 reps
HSPU on parallettes - 3 reps
HSPU on parallettes + 4kg - 1 rep
HSPU on parallettes + 2kg - 1 rep
HSPU on paralletes - 1 rep
32kg Kettlebell (+2kg) C&P 2R, 2L
28kg Kettlebell C&P 3R, 3L
24kg Kettlebell C&P 5R, 5L

117 reps total

Notes

The system is quite flexible and can be easily adapted to suit the needs of most clients. For a sport requiring high levels of strength most of the work can be done in the part of the sequence beginning at 5 reps and down to one rep.

For a sport that's more focused on power and/or endurance, starting at 13 reps and working down to 2 reps works great.

This type of routine will pack on quite a bit of muscle but it's not a bodybuilding routine. It's designed to rapidly build strength and not be overly taxing on the central nervous system like many bodybuilding routines can be.

I've spent the last few weeks playing around with weights to get myself on a scheme based around the fibonacci sequence that will fit my needs. What's above was my first Fibonacci inspired workout that I did today.

This is a medium to advanced workout and I'd never start a novice on scheme doing this much volume. I'd typically start a begginer at 8 reps and have them follow the sequence down to 3 or 2 reps until they learn the lifts properly and can complete them with good form. Depending on their specific needs I will start to add reps at the upper or lower end of the sequence once they start to progress.

I have several other clients on barbell programs (squats, dead-lifts and bench press) based around the Fibonacci sequence and their results have been excellent too. The guys doing the barbell programs are mostly off season footballers.

This is a very scalable system that can be adapted to any sport.

GIF Source

I'm doing the Challenge issued by @steemmatt and it's his 100 rep a day challenge.

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Cheers !

Robot/human or gender neutral new age person.

Good workout @khufu

It didn't really feel like a workout @blackcaviar10

I had no clients yesterday so I got to spend the whole day on myself for a change. It took me over 3 hours to do all that and I even had 3 cups of herbal tea while I was doing it.

So it was a relaxed herbal tea workout then @khufu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60569.85
ETH 2584.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69