Feb 5 Gymnastics practice - challenge complete

in #fitness7 years ago


Gymnastics skill practice

Today was skills practice day & I mixed it up a bit to keep it interesting

Warmup

Ten minutes Indian club swinging

Training

GMB parallettes one - full flow
Planche leans - 3 * 3 reps
V-sit to tuck Plance - 3 * 5 reps
Straddle press to handstand - 3 *5 reps
Kick up to handstand & fall into a dive bomber pushup - 3 * 5 reps
Skin the cat - 10 reps
Front lever static holds - 11,8,6 seconds
Back lever static holds - 9,7,6 seconds
Muscle up negatives on rings - 3,3,3 reps
Ice cream makers - 8,6,6 reps
Explosive decline pushups - 16,15,12 reps
Squat Mae Geri - 20,15,12 reps

Cooldown

Joint circling & hamstring stretching

Notes

I dropped the ring dips today as I just don't see much benefit from them, weighted dips have always been fairly easy for me but they miss the most important part needed to train for a muscle up on rings which is the the transition, so I decided to focus on that.

The squat Mae Geries are a bodyweight squat with a front kick on the up phase, they were a common training method used in martial arts schools until some time around the turn of the century. I added them at the end of the training session to try to burn a few more calories because I'm trying to shed a bit of weight in my quest for the OAC.

194 reps total

The challenge is being run by @steemmatt and it's his 100 rep a day challenge.
100 rep challenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31