23 Jan 2018 Push pull day - Challenge completed

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Warmup

Commando rocking
FTW squats
Butterfly hip flows
Kettlebell C&P 16kg - 15L, 15R
12 bodyweight pullups

Training Pullups & Chinups

Done on the medium bar (smaller of the two in the picture) today

Kettlebell C&P 24kg 8L, 8R
Pullups bodyweight @83kg + 24kg - 7 reps
Kettlebell C&P 28kg 5L, 5R
Pullups bodyweight + 28 kg - 5 reps
HSPU on parallettes - 5 reps
Pullups bodyweight + 44kg - 3 reps
HSPU on parallettes - 4 reps
Chinups bodyweight + 52kg - 2 reps
Kettlebell C&P 32kg 3L, 3R
Towel assisted one arm chinup bodyweight + 6kg 3L, 3R no assistance on the negative phase

Cooldown

Kettlebell C&P 24 kg - 6L, 6R
Pullups bodyweight + 24 kg - 6 reps

Total - 113 reps

Total time - just under 1 hour.

I know my pictures of my training gear don't look very attractive but I didn't make them for their sex appeal, I just wanted bulletproof reliable gear that will outlast me now matter how hard I punish it. The bars are mounted on short chains with snap hooks that hang from a doorway. I also use the same chains that these hang from to hang my gymnastic rings, vertical pullup handles and wrist wrench bar.

Most people who try a pullup on bars suspended by chains tend to think they are more difficult because of the added instability but I don't notice any difference between them and a fixed bar I have outside. I actually find it a bit easier to stabilise myself between reps on a bar suspended by chains.

I've never met anyone with the grip strength to do a pullup on the fat bar while gripping the revolving sleeves & I really enjoy watching people slip off without doing a full rep. They sure are ugly but they are some of the most effective training tools I've ever used.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98