Carb-Timing to Increase Your Productivity and Energy Throughout the Day - Keto Cut Day 15

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! In the previous Keto Cut post, I shared the speech that Jeff Volek gave about ketogenic diets and the human body. I have a lot of notes that I took down from that video and here's another great lesson I extrapolated from it:

If you eat less carbs and time your carb-eating meals, you can greatly increase your ability to have a sustained attention span and your body will be in a much more efficient state throughout the day.

Did you know that we only have about 1-2 TSP of glucose in our blood? Jeff Volek explains that a typical eater will ingest more than 10x that amount of glucose in a single meal, so what is your body doing to get rid of all that excess glucose that's incoming?

If you're healthy and active, most of that incoming glucose will be temporarily stored in skeletal muscle, where it will eventually be burned as fuel.

If you're insulin resistant (typically seen in those who are overweight, diabetic, etc.) then a greater portion of that incoming glucose will go to the liver and be converted into fat in a process called lipogenesis.

After eating a meal rich in carbohydrates, your blood sugar will spike and will cause your body to release large amounts of insulin. Insulin in these large quantities will "impair fat breakdown and oxidation" the result in this "sugar spike" is a "sugar crash" which occurs when your blood sugar levels drop below their normal levels.

That's why it may be a good idea to eat less carbohydrate intensive meals, especially when you're in the middle of your work-day when you're intending on being extremely productive - all those extra carbs will make your body work harder and will take a toll on your mental fortitude!

Source


Day 14 Log:

Weigh-In:

Start Weight (lbs)Goal Weight (lbs)Weight Lost (lbs)
1981738
Today's Weight (lbs)Fat Mass (%)Body Mass BMI
19023.423.6

Workout:

Leg Day:

MovementWeight lbs# Reps# Sets
Back Squat24584
Leg Extensions18012-154
Squat Press4508-104
Hamstring Curl22012-154
Standing Calf Raises225154
Cardio10 Minutes - Stair Master

What I Ate Today:

MealFood
0Bulletproof Coffee (2 TBSP Half & Half, 2 TBSP MCT Oil)
14 Eggs, 2 Slices of Cheddar Cheese, 4 oz deli corned beef
28 Oz Chicken Thighs Sauteed in Garlic and 1 TBSP Avocado Oil, Stir Fry Veggies
38 Oz Ground Beef and Broccoli with 1 TBSP Olive Oil
41 Protein Bar, 1 Avocado, 1 serving of nuts

Here's the Question of The Day, don't forget to post your answers in the comments!

QOTD: Do you typically eat carb-intesive meals early in the day or do you prefer to steer clear of them for increased productivity?

Thanks for reading! Don't forget to leave your thoughts below and I look forward to seeing you in the comments!

-

Sort:  

wow, this article is useful! thanks ^^!

Love the info :) you should come join @dtubefitness and help us spread health and fitness on dtube and steemit :)


QOTD: Do you typically eat carb-intesive meals early in the day or do you prefer to steer clear of them for increased productivity?

Only eat carbs for lunch and dinner. Typical Chinese meal with rice + vegetable + meat + a soup.

Hows everything going man? Haven't connected with ya in awhile.

That's great @danielwong! On a keto diet, I typically don't eat many carbs at all, but I definitely keep the little carbs that I do have for the later portion of the day.

Everything is fantastic, it has been a while! How about yourself?

Ah cool. A friend of mine has recently gone on a diet. It's really saving his life! He's lost 8kgs over 3 weeks.

I'm doing great. Been doing lotsa Dlive streams and not as much writing as I used to do. But will be getting into more soon when business side of things settle down. Downsizing my F&B from 3 outlets back to 1. Brutal time in the business.

Wow that's amazing! I'm glad ot hear that it's working so well for him!

Dlive is becoming more and more interesting to me, I've played around with it a little bit, but I have to admit that I'm slightly confused with what it's meant for. I see a lot of gaming streams but I also see a lot of short videos on there. Is it meant to also serve a "D.tube" like function with those short videos or should people only do long-form livestreaming on there?

Sorry to hear that, but on the positive side of things, sometimes simplifying can make the business a lot better because you can narrow your focus and get to the stuff that really matters! I learned a lot about focus from the Steve Jobs biography - one of the major reasons for Apple's turnaround was due to Jobs returning to Apple and cutting down on the product lines to just 4 core products at the time. I wish you the best of luck, work hard and stay focused my friend!

ኢንተረስቲንግ

my carb-intesive meals are usually in the afternoon during my work break between 1pm and 2pm

Do you usually feel any sort of fatigue when you eat your carb-meal between 1 and 2 or can you usually get right back to work without any fatigue?

I haven,t noticed any fatigue may be I am used to it since its my routine.

Ahh yeah, that's definitely a possibility!

Wow that's a Really amazing post dear, i read it and enjoy it, and many time i visit your blog, and reading your interesting articles and comments on it, keep it up, and im waiting for your next post, well thanks for sharing with us, Thank You.

Will you be posting any before, during, after photos?

Yeah I skipped over that when I first started this series, but I plan on showing the transformation at the end or as we near the end of the cut

Loading...

@khaleelkazi we can use carb- intensive meal as a breakfast but one thing that is my favorite in your post is avocado. Avocado is one of the great fruit that has many benefits thanks for this lovely post @khaleelkazi I will try to follow you

Avocado is also my favorite! I could eat Avocados all day long! I've also been cooking with Avocado oil as well!

While carbs are the main source of energy in the body but its better to consume your carb by mid day to help them not get stored in the body. Very good information :-)

Beautiful .. work great from you
The lucky one who has that balance is healthy food and a daily sport
Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71