My P90X Journey - Day 3 - One day at a time

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

P90X - Day 3 (February 28) - Shoulders and Arms

day 3.jpg

One of the key aspects of adopting any workout routine is having a positive attitude. Showing up physically is only half the battle. That's the lesson I learned today. The lingering effects of the previous two day's exercises has me feeling less than great and barely mobile. My abdominal region feels like it's been through the shredder. My fitness friends tell me if I'm sore, I'm doing something right. I hope they're correct. Supposedly, we're supposed to see the results by day 14. And they say the soreness eventually goes away...Yeah, we'll see.

Today's focus was shoulders and arms. If you think about it, your shoulders work as an important link between the muscles in your arms, back, and chest... And unfortunately, it's my weakest and most neglected muscle group, for now. Day 3 was a combination of various dumbbell workouts focused on the bicep, tricep, and shoulders. A low impact, less intense workout than the previous two days, but still exhausting. By the halfway point my biceps were tight and cramped and my shoulders and triceps were burning. (But to be honest my shoulders were burning during the warm-up - I hate arm circles!) The workout consisted of a series of different curls, shoulder presses, and tricep kickback/dips. Judging by the way my arms felt at the end of this routine, I'd say it was an effective workout.

At the conclusion of the regular workout, i had another dose of Ab Ripper X. I took it slow, taking more breaks than the maniacs on the dvd, but i finished and that's all that matters! Towards the end, my abs began to tighten up painfully. So I didn't push it too far. I can tell by the way I feel before, during, and after the workout, that I'm going to eventually have a six-pack instead of this winter keg. That's when it'll all be worth it!

Tomorrow we dive head first into Yoga X, perhaps one of the most intense and beneficial of all P90X workouts. This won't be the typical relaxing yoga session, believe me.


Encouragement, support, and fitness "tips" can be sent in the form of Steem or other cryptocurrencies!


LTC - LLpQ9jECyw4nZvynzrKtTNFfzxnausm9gY

ETH - 0xb096A2d5EF8116718Fe982076d4EFCF75AB004Fd

BTC - 1A9ueyMPM5PEuMMPHc56GyLKa2FixiyAz8

BCH - qrxsaypdy4jyswpv98d6uhaercvpgrspssjgeksg89

Sort:  

Congratulations @juddmercurio! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @juddmercurio! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60582.22
ETH 2368.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65