My P90X Journey - Day 1 - No More Excuses

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Alright Steemit family, here's the deal!

I am determined to start using Steemit on a regular basis. I'm also determined to get in shape and improve my health. I spent 2017 getting myself "financially fit" by completing Dave Ramsey's "Financial Peace University" and playing around with and developing a deeper understanding of cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology. So, I have decided that this year I'll focus on my physical fitness and you are going to be my accountability partner.

My goal is to lose weight (~25lbs) and increase overall muscle mass. To accomplish this goal I'll be using the original P90x extreme home fitness DVD program by Beachbody. Now you may be scoffing at the idea of using a dvd fitness program to get in shape in 90 days, right? Well, I'm no skeptic. About 5 years ago I completed this program all the way through and was blown away by the results. In the 90 days, I lost ~30lbs and developed muscles I didn't even know existed! I was in the best shape of my life. (Even better than when I was wrestling in high school) This program works, but I've only completed it once.

Over the last few years I've tried to reboot my drive and desire to get healthy. I've started and stopped this particular program so many times I have the first week of workouts memorized. But nevertheless I'd let excuses get in the way and knock me off the wagon. I feel like the only thing holding me back is my attitude and lack of an accountability partner. That's where you come in, Steemit! My hope is to share my journey with this community and draw from your encouragements and encourage others who are also on the same journey to health.

What is P90X?

P90X is a 90 day home fitness program. The program consists of 12 comprehensive workout routines. Starting today, and for the next 90 days, I will complete one of these ~1hr workout routines each day with a ~15min abdominal workout, every other day. The routine schedule is predetermined and a different area of the body will be worked everyday, they call this "muscle confusion". These workouts are no walk in the park. My body and my mind will be pushed to their limits, but I intend to give this my all. No more excuses.

Along with these daily P90X workouts I will be committing to running at least 1 mile/day on my treadmill and walking my dogs 1-2 miles/day. I will also be adjusting my eating habits and focusing on consuming an all around healthier diet. I will be eliminating fast/convenience foods and soda from my diet immediately. I will be posting pictures along the way, on days 1, 30, and 90... Who knows, we may just keep going beyond the 90 days!?

So without further adieu, let's start this journey...

day 1 menu.jpg

P90X Day 1 (February 26): Chest and Back + Abs

My gym consists of a cleared, 6x4' rectangular area on my bedroom floor. My tools for this workout are a pull up bar mounted to my bedroom door, a set of push up bars, and a pair of 25 lbs dumbbells. The first workout DVD, "Chest and Back", is playing from the old flat screen mounted on the wall. I've selected "Silence and Cues" from the menu. Tony Horton's voice occasionally shouts from the screen directing my next move. The other TV is playing a Netflix documentary about 3D printing. Why not exercise your body and your mind at the same time? So long as it doesn't become a distraction.

Today's workout was strictly resistance, pushing and pulling. Your classic push up and pull up routine, just a little more extreme. This workout was 53 minutes with about 10 minutes of warm up/cool down and it was split up into 2 phases. For the first phase we spent 15 minutes alternating between different types of push ups and pull ups with a water break every fourth move. The last 15 minutes we alternated between different push ups and dumbbell exercises. Phase 2 consisted of repeating phase 1 while performing maximum repetitions. By the end of phase 2 my arms were jello. I must be doing something right!

day 1 action.jpg

Just when you thought it was over, the end of this exercise featured an intense 15 minute abdominal workout, called "Ab Ripper X", as if the name isn't scary enough! No special tools were needed for this brutal experience, just your body and will power. I didn't complete all 339 individual moves but I did my best and I forgot the rest. This was more than an ab workout, it was a core workout. I felt the burn from my feet to my shoulders. This program is the real deal. Even though I'm physically exhausted, for the first time in a long time, I'm excited for day 2! I'm in this for the long haul, no more excuses.

Thanks for following along!

Baseline Measurements:

Weight - 168 lbs
Waist - 32.5"
Chest - 40"
Arms - 13.75"

Progress Report - Photos Day 1

p90x side before.jpg


Encouragement, support, and fitness "tips" can be sent in the form of Steem or other cryptocurrencies!


LTC - LLpQ9jECyw4nZvynzrKtTNFfzxnausm9gY

ETH - 0xb096A2d5EF8116718Fe982076d4EFCF75AB004Fd

BTC - 1A9ueyMPM5PEuMMPHc56GyLKa2FixiyAz8

BCH - qrxsaypdy4jyswpv98d6uhaercvpgrspssjgeksg89

Sort:  

Deciding to start is the biggest and hardest decision one can make. I support you brother. When i first started out, I did p90x every single day and I learned loads of stuff! I still to this day use many exercises from ab ripper x. Best of luck, You will accomplish exactly what you set your mind to!

Thank you for the encouragement and the support! I appreciate you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60582.22
ETH 2368.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65