Pop Up Art or Tough Workout? Or Both? 😂steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness7 years ago

At jumprope today they were getting creative. I was confused. Was I here for a workout or to participate in a modern art experiment?

IMG_4636.JPG

So of course I had to snap a pic 📷!

After the warm up we were finally told what that was for. For me it was the most difficult part of the workout. Burpees in between the bars - Here's a demo in case some of you aren't familiar with the term. I look nowhere near as good doing them!
And then jump over the bars. And go all the way around. With my old knee injury this was a tough combo.

But this post is more about the found art aspect 😂. Art is everywhere!!!

I love this place.
Jumprope Crossfit Gym in Louisville, CO
http://jnrgym.com

Sort:  

Her burpee form is pretty average. You can go from standing to push up in one clean movement. There's no need to squat and then throw your legs out, wastes time.

That's a gif so it looks pretty choppy....

Actually kicking legs back is part of the movement sequence.

See how she squats and touches the ground before kicking her legs back? That step can be shortened by kicking your legs back as you drop to the ground into the push-up position. It's hard to explain but it simplifies and speeds up the action of doing a burpee really nicely. It means you can pump more out per minute. (I own a gym by the way :P)

My answer to your suggestion or style of burpees is that it's a choice. The muscles used would be a little different. Also the impact on hands and wrists would be a problem. Also, speed isn't anything I'm interested in. I'm just trying to get the full movement in with proper alignment and without injury. I am an old track and field athlete (long and triple) all kinds of injuries to be wary of. 😊✌️️☮️

You’re right that there is potentially a greater impact to your joints if not performed correctly. If you’re not interested in speed and efficiency then there is nothing wrong with that technique.

He, he

a modern art experiment

I love it%) I guess it is a great modern experiment%))
Art is indeed everywhere and I am happy to see it came to gym as well thank to you, wonderful @icmultitudes
And some other gym art for you%))

Image Source

Nice! Glad you enjoyed the art aspect of it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58949.08
ETH 2306.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47