Missing you.....my pole and aerial love.

in #fitness6 years ago

I found pole and aerial fitness when I was at my lowest moments in life. I was working for an IT company when suddenly I saw an ad that a new pole studio was opening just two floor up from our office floor. I decided that I would try it just one time, I needed something to entertain myself anyway. And so I went and I wept. And it was so hard!! It was evident during the class that I didn't have the upper body strength or even the leg strength to push myself up so I can climb the pole. Endurance and stamina were also out of the question. Warm-up and stretching for 30 mins and I already felt so tired. It was clear that I was out of condition. After class I went home with lots of bruises, body sore, disappointed with myself but determine to come back and conquer that pole. And so I went, twice a week or even thrice a week sometimes. Finally, after 8 grueling sessions of trying and conditioning my body. I was able to scale the pole. One of the happiest memories in my life, I kid you not. It was the feeling of achievement. I forgot about my sorrows because I was concentrating on my body, my mind and how I can push myself to be better. That is the time that I knew that I would forever love this new addiction on mine.

Through the years, I attended lots of classes. Met and made a lot of new friends. Everyone has a different story of why they started doing pole and aerial which is still a bit taboo in our culture. It was nice to find like minded people who will push you and inspire you. We got better together. We got stronger together. We more tricks and tried to look like it was effortless. It is a fun community to be part of.

Pole_compile.jpg

Fast forward now. I had to leave my country because I am trying to build a life with the love of my love in another place. I had to stop pole and aerial. I am weaker. Can't do pullups, splits are gone. My body doesn't get its normal training anymore. But someday, I promise that I will get back to it no matter what.

Sort:  

Congratulations @goulatita! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42