You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Believe it or not, fast food is ok for weight loss

in #fitness4 years ago

fast food gets a bad rep for very good reasons but some is worse than others. I remember watching some sort of documentary, it might have been fast-food nation... i don't remember exactly but they interviewed the CEO of Hardy's / Carl's Junior and he said something along the lines of "we have healthier options on the menu, but people don't order them" and also "the idea that we intentionally spike the food with unnecessary sugar and salt is ludicrous."

I eat fast food all the time but also skip the soda and most of the time the fries too. I haven't had a full-flavored soda in years. The amount of processed sugar in that stuff is astounding.

Sort:  

I've gradually made modest changes over recent years to eat better. I eat fast food less than I used to and I opt for sweet tea vs. soda if I get a drink. Okay, still not great but better than soda.

The easiest way I reduced my intake of soda was to stop buying it at the grocery. I still occasionally drink a soda but it's fairly rare. For instance, I'll still buy a coke and popcorn when I go see a movie but that's probably less than once a month on average. However, now that many theaters have started serving beer, maybe that's a healthier alternative. :)

you ever consider switching to diet soda or for me I usually keep soda water in the fridge and also these zero calorie fruit flavored waters that probably have magic chemicals from space in them that will give us cancer or something.

I guess I was lucky. As a kid my parents severely limited out soda intake and eventually we switched to a now gone product called Pepsi-Free which was sugarless. I guess I never really developed a taste for it.

Sweet tea is tasty but since I was a kid in the mid-west, unsweet tea was the norm!

It is a good plan to not keep soda in your house though. When I was in college a roommate of mine kept Dr. Pepper in the fridge constantly. Wow those are tasty.

I drank tons of soda when I was a kid but I was always skinny then too. I've never liked diet soda. Periodically they come out with new 0 or near 0 calorie sweeteners that are supposed to taste more like the real thing but they all have that diet aftertaste to me.

Mostly what I drink at home these days is either water or iced green tea. The grocery store I go to (Publix) sells it by the gallon. It's somewhat less sweet that than the regular (black) sweet tea that they sell (though I could always make my own) and partially sweetened with honey. I'll sometimes have regular soda when I eat out but more often I have water or sweet tea. I never developed a taste for unsweetened tea either though it is probably higher on my list that diet soda.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83