My first yoga experience

in #fitness5 years ago

I exercise quite a lot, I probably talk about this all too frequently. However, while I am happy with my strength and my cardio is coming along pretty nicely, there is one thing about my fitness that absolutely sucks: My flexibility. I can't touch my toes without bending my knees and that is just where the fun begins.


source

I have always shied away from Yoga because it seemed too hipster-ey. Plus the people that I know that are into yoga wont shut up about it and really think it is important to tell everyone about it all the time - some of them go on to be instructors for some reason - a certification that isn't terribly difficult to obtain, and then being around them becomes unbearable. Sorry if you are a yoga instructor.

64808378_2310867642502552_158887951428747264_n.jpg

Immediately, i was kind of put off by the place. A vast majority of the seating was on the floor and I hate it when places do this. I understand that the actual yoga has to take place on the floor but in the meantime maybe your business could splurge a bit and buy some chairs. Ghetto.

So the class began and the instructor lead us through some relaxation techniques some breathing exercises and a few stretches. This was ok, but I still felt like it was also a bit corny. However, everyone else was taking it very seriously so i just went with the flow and even though I still was rolling my eyes at some of the thing the instructor was saying about spirituality and other hippy mumbo-jumbo I suppose I enjoyed some of it.


source

Most of the poses were very difficult for me because I have such horrible flexibility. I wouldn't say that any of it felt relaxing to me, even though that was the name of the course. I don't blame the instructor for this. I blame the fact that I probably haven't done any sort of real stretching in years.

It was cheap at 200 Baht ($6) for an hour session, but I likely wont return. I dunno, i just don't think I am ultra-spiritual enough for this. I think i would rather hire a trainer to simply help me to become for flexible and skip the "body and soul should be one" aspect of it all.

Sorry Yoga, but I don't think you are for me.

Sort:  

I tried it once and agree wholeheartedly. I thought maybe I just didn't get it so I'm glad someone else wasn't impressed either. Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah, i tried to open my mind but I'm afraid all that stuff about chakras and third eyes and what not is just a bit too hippy for me. I really took it all seriously, but about the 15th time I was chanting "Ooommmmmmm" i started to feel like i had joined a cult

I think jazzercise is probably a better route. You get to wear leg warmers at least.

Posted using Partiko Android

ha! What about Tai-Bo? is that still a thing?

I think that went the way of Sweatin to the Oldies with Richard Simmons!

Posted using Partiko Android

Took my first yoga class last month. It was hot yoga so it was the same experience except worse because the longer you stay there, the harder it becomes to breathe.

I feel that yoga is a waste of time and pretty expensive. 20-30 dollars per class where I live. Seems like going for a massage and doing direct stretch work is more productive for vitality and health.

it is immensely popular. I am sure it has some benefits because I know a lot of people that have lower back and spinal issues, none of these people were into Yoga.

however, it has turned into a money making thing. I can't imagine anyone paying $30 for it here, but that is just economies of scale.

Then you'll have to do it the old way.

Personally I think there are exercises and sports for each type of person. What works for one does not do for another.

I suffer from a problem in the piriformis muscle that lies in the hip, I started doing stretching exercises and yoga to relieve pain, and I felt an extraordinary improvement in my health, I really advise everyone to do at least 10 minutes a day of yoga.

t6n0chijh9.jpg
wish you super flexibility..

Ha ha really great....

My buddies wife has a friend that teaches Yoga, but she does it from a scientific angle as opposed to a spiritual one. I have never been, but I think I would enjoy that much more than the latter. So for example, she will explain that a certain position positions a specific muscle at a right angle to another one thus allowing it to stretch more completely. I made all of that up of course, but from what I understand that is the kind of stuff she explains to you as you are doing it.

keep practicing Yoga.
Yoga is an integral part of Indian Civilizations. From ancient to modern era Every Indian is connected with Yoga in their life style.
Yoga is gift to the world from India.

Yoga means Additions. means Balance between Mind Body and Spirit. means healthy life, Blissful Mind and Stress free Body.

stay blessed...!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54