Fitness Diary #3: Still Learning!

in #fitness8 years ago

This is the third fitness diary if you never got that from the title. Make sure to follow my blog page so you can go on this amazing journey with me, we can progress together! I also have  a fitness log series where once a month I'll compare last months lifts and weigh-ins!

Getting Started

Today at the gym I worked out my arms and a touch of back. Like the last few times I went to the gym I never had a workout partner. I always hated going to the gym alone but now that I became friends with some of the usual guys that go to the gym theirs is almost always someone there to ask for some tips and to give me a spot so going alone isn't to bad. 

I did a total of  8 exercises. 7 arm exercises and 1 back exercises. For arms I try to do 1 bicep exercise and 1 tricep exercise then rotate  back and forth so it would look like (bi x tri x bi x tri x bi x tri x bi)

Exercise 1

Bicep Curls

Curls for the girls! Or as some police officers would say Curls are for girls! Bicep Curls will obviously work out your biceps. I usually do these bad boys sitting down. To do a bicep curl you will take your dumbbells start by your sides and curl them so they become shoulder level make sure to squeeze your muscles as much as you possibly can when you reach shoulder height. This will allow more blood to flood to your muscles. 

My Performance 

30lbs x 8 Reps

40lbs x 8 Reps

45lbs x 8 Reps

25lbs x 6 Reps (super set)

40lbs x 5 Reps

Those number are starting to get pretty big for myself I remember last year when all I could curl was 25lbs talk about serious GAINZ!

Exercise 2

Close Grip Bench Press

Close grip bench press is a lot like a normal bench press but your hand will be closer together so it will hit your triceps more so than your chest.

My performance

95lbs x 8 Reps

115lbs x 8 Reps

135lbs x 8 Reps

135lbs x 8 Reps

Exercise 3

V-Bar Triceps Cable Pull Downs 

This exercise is done on the cable machine with the V-Bar, its like the rope pull downs just with a V-bar.

My performance

75lbs x 15 Reps

105lbs x 8 Reps

150 x 8 Reps

180 x 5 Reps

60 x 6 Reps (super set)

I had really bad form  for the 4th set, I definitely never worked the muscle properly so I ended up doing a super set.

Exercise 4

Easy Bar Curls

For the easy bar curls I usually like to do 8 reps of wide grip and 8 reps of close grip so I tend to stay at the same weight for the entire exercise. 

My Performance

40lbs x 8 Reps Wide

40 lbs x 8 Reps Close

Done the same for 3 Sets

20lbs x 8 Reps Wide

20lbs x 8 Reps Close

Exercise 5

Dumbbell Skull Crushers

For this exercise you lay down on a bench and raise the dumbbells in the air above your body and bend your arms at the elbow to your skull.

My Performance

30lbs x 8 Reps

30lbs x 8 Reps

20lbs x 8 Reps

I really didn't like this exercise so I only done 3 set

Exercise 6

Hammer Curls

Hammer curls hit your biceps, to do a hammer curl you take your dumbbell and start by your side and curl  it to shoulder height but don't rotate the dumbbell like you would for bicep curls.

My performance

35lbs x 8 Reps

40lbs x 8 Reps

45lbs x 6 Reps

40 x 6 Reps

Exercise 6 

Overhead cable extensions

attach a rope to the cable machine and with both hands pull the rope directly over your head , and slowly lower the rope behind your head and then return to your starting position. 

My performance

30lbs x 10 Reps

45lbs x 8 Reps

45lbs x 10 Reps

30lbs x 8 Reps

Exercise 7

Rack Pulls

Like I said in my blog post "fitness Diary 1: Amazing Start" I love rack pulls. Probably always will. To perform a rack pull you will get a squat back and set up a barbell with weight on both ends of the barbell, just below knee level then lift the barbell and push your hips back locking out the lift.

My performance

45lbs x 6 (warm up)

135lbs x 6 Reps

225lbs x 8 Reps

315lbs x 8 Reps

405lbs x 2 Reps

I felt really tired after this exercise and called it a day.

Final Words

In the middle of march I am thinking of trying to achieve my 405lbs dead lift goal, I really need to eat a lot if I want to see that happen.


Sort:  

Keep up the good work and these posts!

Thanks Means a lot!

great work buddy ! keep it up, you have my support !

thanks for your constant support!

@fitme: Beastmode! Nice

thanks man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53406.15
ETH 2223.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29