Fitness Diary #1 Amazing Start!

in #fitness7 years ago

This will be my first fitness diary, It going to be a little different from my fitness log series. My fitness diary will be revolving around my day at the gym, if i seen any changes with my strength or if I had a off day. My fitness log series will be of my body and personal best lifts of the month.

Getting Started:

I wasn't really feeling up to going to the gym today, I actually dreaded it. I just got off from a busy day of work all I wanted to do was sleep. But I managed to get out of bed and go to the gym. I am so grateful that I done that. It was one of the best workouts I had in a really long time.

When I go to the gym I usually have a work-out partner that does the same workouts with me. But today it was just myself. I'm glad that I didn't have anyone to go with today. Here is why, I managed to strike up a conversation with one of the people that is a regular to the gym along with one of his friends. I told them about my goal of the 400lbs dead lift and told them about a problem I was having with 'Locking out' the dead lift. The first picture is a showing a dead lift lockout. They suggested a lot of upper back workouts I could start focusing on to improve the lockout.

Workout 1

Bent-Over Dumbbell Rows 

A Bent-over dumbbell row is great for your middle back muscle. To preform this workout you select any size dumbbell set it on the floor and with one leg kneeling on the bench and one hand grasping the edge of the bench you will pick the dumbbell off the ground and bring it as close to your chest as possible. I try to imagine that i'm trying to shoot my elbow through the roof to help get the weight off the ground to my chest.

My Performance

80lbs x 8 Reps

105 x 7 Reps

80lbs x 8 Reps

Workout 2

Rack Pulls

I love rack pulls hands down. Rack pulls are great for that lower back muscle. To preform a rack pull you will get a squat rack and set up a barbell with desired weight on the ends of the barbell just below knee level then lift the barbell and push your hips back locking out the lift. 

My Performance

135lbs x 8 Reps

225lbs x 8 Reps

315lbs x 8 Reps

405lbs x 8 Reps

425lbs x 2 Reps 

I felt really good after lifting 405lbs I had to go up I slapped 10lbs more on each side and it made a HUGE differents in weight its crazy how much more harder 20lbs makes the lift.

Workout 3

Pull downs (Machine)

The name is pretty self explanatory you put the weight on the machine and you pull down while squeezing your back. The squeezing part is key!

 My performance

135lbs x 8 Reps

225lbs x 8 Reps

275lbs x 5 Reps

225lbs x 5 Reps

135lbs x 15 Reps

I noticed that I went up a lot of weight since the last time I done machined pull downs, At least another 90lbs!

Workout 4

Seated Rows

Seated rows are pretty simple to do, you sit on the machine and pull the weight back to your body and imagine you are elbowing somebody behind you! Don't forget to squeeze you back muscles!

My performance

135lbs x 10 Reps

225lbs x 8 Reps

275lbs x 8 Reps

225lbs x 7 Reps

135lbs x 15 Reps

Workout 5

Pull Downs (Cables)

Some idea as the Pull down (machine)  just you are using the cables!

My performance

70lbs x 10 Reps

85x 8 Reps

100 x 8 Reps

70lbs x 10 Reps 

Final Thoughts 

Amazing day at the gym I can not wait to get back in there tomorrow and see some progress or even a improvement on my form with some lifting, beyond excited!

I couldn't figure out how to link the images to their sources so I do apologize for that. Image 1 is from ElieteFTS.com, image 2 is from ExRx.net, image 3&4 is from bodybuilding.com
Sort:  

great job @fitme ! keep it up.
to put links on image just put the the source between [] then the link between () so will look like [source].(link) <-- without dot
have a nice day.

thanks! and thanks again for telling my how to link the source!!

Im glad you started. beastmode:)

We both got a hell of a journey ahead of us, its going to be awesome

Super true. Its gonna be fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98