Stop Sabotaging your Fitness GoalssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness7 years ago

IMG_1126.JPG
No getting around it, being fit and healthy—and staying that way—requires discipline and dedication. But I get it. You’re crazy busy. Juggling work and family and those endless curveballs life likes to throw your way isn’t easy. When you’ve got to cut something from your day, your gym time is too often the sacrificial lamb. But that doesn’t mean you should give up trying to work out altogether. Stop the self-sabotage! Taking care of yourself isn’t any less important than taking care of everyone else around you. In fact, you can’t give your best to anyone if you’re constantly compromising your own physical well-being. So how to squeeze in fitness, no matter what? Below are a few accessible and affordable tips anyone can do.

Incorporate as much activity into your daily routine as possible.
No, I will never tell you it’s ok to just take the stairs instead of the elevator. However, N.E.A.T or “non exercise activity thermogenesis” is a hell of a lot better than nothing. This basically means stand instead of sit while on the phone or waiting at the doctors’ office. Have a walking office meeting instead of a sit down office meeting. Again, this is not a panacea, but it will add up over time.

Create a mini home gym.
Relax—I’m not talking about buying expensive equipment or clearing out an entire room in your home. All you need is an 8-by-8 square foot area of space to work in, and a few portable items such as dumbbells that adjust from 3 to 8 pounds, a resistance tube, and a yoga mat. But your most valuable tool? That would be your own body weight. Do squats and lunges to work your butt and thighs; push-ups and downward-facing dogs to work your chest, shoulders, and triceps; crunches and planks to work your abs; and jumping jacks and mountain climbers for cardio.
IMG_1884.JPG

Sort:  

I really need to get a home gym setup - that's great advice. All of the gyms around my town close by like 6 or 7 PM in summers and I work late. Thanks for the wisdom fitchick!

Of course! Good luck to you! 💪🏻😜

Them delts thoughhh! You look amazing! Fit mind and fit body. Keep digging in and finding reasons to be healthy! 👌🏽👌🏽

Thank you so much!! 👌🏻💪🏻

Thanks for motivation :) I agree totally the fact, that you have to do bodyweight training if it is not enough time for driving to the gym ;) Keep going :)

Thank you!!

Stunning pics! Your advice clearly comes by experience, rather than book learnin' =).

I work construction, and that involves hours of cardio (the way I do it. I hate dawdling, and stay moving as possible), and, today, involved carring ~50 lb. toilet down a hallway (stepping from joist to joist - the flooring is my task on this job) between my legs.

Trust me, tasks like that work muscles you don't even know you have. And that's a good thing about what I do. Not all jobs are so demanding physically, and when I have extra juice at the end of the day, I do some squats, leg lifts, pushups, etc.., just using body weight, in the morning before I go to work.

Amongst the most valuable and challenging body weight exercises involve pullups, which can be done variously to work different muscles, by for example, twisting from side to side and raising the knees above the waist to work the obliques.

One drawback to using 8 lb hammers to do my workout is handedness. I almost never wield a hammer with my left, so naturally my right develops more. sigh.

Nothing's perfect, but lotsa stuff is better than nothin', and better is the enemy of good enough.

Great comment! Thank you for sharing! Yes it's awesome that your job allows you to workout while you work - good for you!! 💪🏻💪🏻 Stay tough.

Hello Ilona, That's great advice, especially for people who are new into fitness. Just with a pair of dumbbells you can do a lot. If you want to go to next level, you can purchase a doorway pull up bar or a Resistance band. That'll do. Looking forward for your post. You have an amazing physique. Keep up the good work :)

kindly check my blog @rahul516. I write fitness stuff. Follow if you like it.
upvoted and followed.

Thank you so much! It's true - you don't need a lot of equipment to be successful. I just followed you! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66