Splits Challenge-So far So Stretchy- Days 1-9 Progress Photos & Daily Updates

in #fitness8 years ago

I am participating in a 60 day splits challenge through a group called Worldwide Splitters on Facebook. For this challenge you have to work on your splits flexibility a minimum of 5 days a week, and take a minimum of  5 photos each session to track progress and prove that you completed the challenge each day. I have made it to day 9 , and so far everything is going really well :) 


Day 1:  Feeling pretty good about today's practice. Focusing a lot on keeping my hips very squared . I can release deeper into my splits if i open the hips( as you can see in the standing splits/ pole photos) BUT my goal is to keep those hips nice and even , so i added some blocks to help me focus on alignment. I injured myself in the splits a few months back,and took some time off of practicing to rest and recover, so i am hoping to get back to my previous level of flexibility, and further!

Day 2:Spent about an hour and a half on stretching / splits this morning :) Feeling pretty relaxed after a nice hot bath before my practice :) Off to work !

Day 3:  Spent about another hour and a half / two hours on stretching this morning. Since the hot bath was so nice yesterday , i did that again today. Still feeling pretty good, a little bit sore in the hips , but that is to be expected ! I had socks today because it is chilly up here in the mountains <3 Excited to go on a nice hike today to a mountain lake and relax ! It's my day off and what better way to start it than with stretchies!

Day 4: Rest Day! Did a little light yoga warmup followed with about an hour or so of pole fitness. ( My body is very used to practicing SOMETHING every day) Snapped a few photos for comparison later ! Hope everyone is having a great day 4 !

Day 5: Did a mild stretching day today, spending about an hour and a half stretching to Lana Del Rey <3 Weekly Challenge- SPORTS SPLITS!- One of my activities is pole fitness, so today i did my splits with the pole! I also did the splits with the aerial hammock outside, but could not get photos to work. I will see if my fiance would take some hammock/ silks splits photos next time/ sometime later this week. Feeling pretty good , AND its another day off! So i will be playing with hoops and flow later tonight :) Hope everyone's day 5 is swell!

Day 6: Today's practice was somewhere in between moderate and intense, just under two hours including my yoga warm up. . . Feeling really good today because my " pancake" is actually coming along (slowly but surely) I can feel the groin and hips beginning to release their fear and loosen up! I did not have consistent photos of my pancake earlier , but i think i had one somewhere, and will try to make a before/ after comparison photo :) Still feeling a lot of resistance in my front splits when i keep the hips nice and square, but i have faith that will loosen up with practice :) Happy Splitting everyone!!!

Day 7: Light stretching day today, spent about an hour or so before i went to the hot springs and soaked. Played around with stretching in the warm pools, and even held my splits stretches in the water (no photos because i was by myself and did not have laptop) Feeling a lot better after a nice hot soak. Week one down !!Not a ton of visible difference, but i can feel quite a bit more loosening happening from practicing daily! Hope everyone is still feeling wonderful!

Day 8 : Rest day #2 I will probably be doing some light stretching after work, but won't be messing with photos today. Feeling a bit sore all over, probably just not enough sleep ( i was up way too late binge watching American Horror Story)

Day 9: Spent about an hour and a half stretching and watching cartoons this morning. Had some help from Loki , my sweet kitty <3 He loves my yoga blocks ( and by loves i mean he wants to eat them). I have to keep my yoga blocks locked up in the laundry room when i am not using them or he will shred them. I left these BRAND NEW ones unattended for about 10 minutes the first day i got them, and they are covered in gashes and bite marks now haha. Stretching went pretty good regardless. Feeling a bit sore in the hips, but overall , feeling motivated and happy on day 9!


I am hoping to eventually get all of my splits down (fronts each side, middles , box) , but am not sure how long the process will take at this pace. Follow me for weekly updates on this challenge :) Thanks for checking out my blog! 

Namaste! SO MUCH LOVE!
Evening Star



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43