Day 1 of a week(+) of Fitness/Health Challenge

in #fitness7 years ago

@scrooger has called me out and I ACCEPT

mydayfeelslike.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

@scrooger is great person and has been doing ‘100 days of fitness/health challenge.’ As someone who has been following along on his wonderful journey to a better life style. I have revisited my own a few times, and it’s not good. It no secret to me I am dare say-- I am mortality obesity individual. I know how it will end if things don’t change.

He has encourage me to trying a better eating and fitness style of living for a week. I hoping to do more than just a week but it will be a struggle. I have more times than I can recall in my life tried to lose the weight and become more fit. I am going try not going to extreme at the start this time and work my way in. Many years ago I even bought myself a treadmill. You would not think a person who is 318lbs would have a treadmill. Granted I am a bit over its weight limit; so I got take it easy on it for a while.

Food Journal

dearjournal.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

I always wanted to go into extreme detail about all the calories and vitamin in what I eat. This I felt has always held me back from getting into a diet in the first place—it’s a pain. Instead, I am just going included best “measurements” of what I eat to keep myself honest. My goal here is more or less portion size, then, to eat like a rabbit. Moreover, things I would have chosen to eat instead but did not (if I felt like eating other things.) I was born very underweight, and have more or less been an overeater my entire life part of that “clean plate club.” That was used in situations like mine that has carried over from being a baby into my teen years, then, later into my adult life. It’s just time to start using a smaller plate.

Breakfast

  • 2 strawberries
  • 2 watermelon cubes.
    Usually I would have something like that on a huge heaping pile of pancakes! Not today.

Lunch

  • 1/8 of a pizza.
    Left over frozen pizza from last night’s dinner. I would usually include this with my normal lunch of Ramen Noodles. This right here is going be one of the bigger changes in my diet. I know this stuff is worse than bad for you. Just to give you an idea. 2 serving’s size. 250 calories (80 from fat), and 660mg of Sodium 28%. Yes my lunches included 160 calories from fat, and 1,320mg of sodium. I have eaten these things every day for years. How I am not dead yet beats me.

Snack

  • 4 watermelon cubes.
    Was very hunger today I usually would have consumed an entire wrapper of crackers instead, but I did not. I don’t even want think how much sodium is in that many crackers.

Dinner

  • 1 ear of corn with grinded black pepper (no added butter or salt),
  • 7 pieces of popcorn chicken,
  • 3/4 cup of rice.
  • 1 tablespoon of sweet and sour sauce.
    I know this is a very large dinner for most. I on the other hand, could have easily eaten 18 pieces of popcorn chicken with a cup of rice, put more butter and salt on that corn then it would take too feed a village. . .

Drink

  • ~2000ML of water.
    I don’t think this was really enough for today and is something to work on. On a normal day I tend to consume 1200ML of Gatorade because drinking only water all the time gets boring; along with, that amount of water. I gave up drinking diet Pepsi about two years ago after consuming a 12 pack a day.

Fitness

thingsareless.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

My normal fitness for a typical day tends to be zero. This has to change, and today was first day of many changes I am hoping turn into long term habits.

  • 10 minutes walk on treadmill ¼ mile for a warm up
  • 5 minutes stretching outdoors
  • 40 minutes of swimming off and on with short 60 sec breaks when I was feeling tired (I took a lot breaks today…)
    No clue all the different kind of swimming stokes I was doing. Did not keeps track of how many laps around my pool.
  • 15 minutes of lifting 10lb dumbbells.
    Something I need to look into is different kind of exercise with dumbbells.
  • 5 minutes stretching indoors as a cool down

Sleep

I tend to only sleep 4 hours a day. I want at least 6 hours of sleep.

Final Thoughts of Day 1

Now do I have the balls to show an image of my keg for a belly, arms, and legs? Heck no, and you are welcome for me not breaking the internet today. I give @scrooger mad props for including that kind of documentation. Its part of why I am glade he called me out. I want look thinner and his results at only day 35 is amazing. I know from my many past experiences I will gain weight from muscle building, and will be discouraged for a while not seeing any actual results.

Sort:  

Calorie reduced diets only induce starvation mode, do yourself a favor and start a prolonged fasting lifestyle. You'll lose weight quickly, sustainably and you won't have rolls of skin left over. I'm doing 72 days of 72 hour fasts and losing 72 lbs, starting as a 225 lb 5'10 Male.
Steemit Signature Pic.jpg

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Enjar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Wow. This is an inspiration. There is a lot to learn eating well. I never worried about my weight and ate healthy most of my life. Even more the last decade but my activity has slid into no activivty at all. No sports at all. I've gone off and on eating. Starving hasn't helped me because after I'm done starving my body goes psycho.
This sounds like a great challenge.
I know I need more sleep on a regular basis
I know I need to be more active
I know I need to be more active
I know I need to be more active
I know I need to take break from the computer
I know I need to stand more than I sit.
I know I need to be with Healthy Lifestyle Motivators.
AWESOME POST!
source (2).gif

Thank you for showing your support. My advice, change the “need to” to “I just did!” Main issues with procrastination you are always left thinking “I should do that”. My arms and legs are so sore today-- worth it.

Yes! You started! Great stuff mate, proud of you!

Let's see how it goes and how you feel after 1 week. Keep an eye on the pounds just for curiousity. It is hell, but I think you will feel a big difference after one week! Don't startve yourself though!

Ramen? I love Ramen! Here in Korea they have Cup Ramen in every store and in every flavor imaginable. So darn delicious. I tend to stay away from them now. The sodium levels are crazy high.

I am also not a big fan of water and try to drink way more! Try your best and will be enough rooting for you!

Yep I love Ramen and it so cheap here as well! I sometimes add a cheese and salad dressing to it. I’m sure the stuff I buy in the store is not as great as the stuff you get! Thank you for showing support I will keep an eye on my progress.

Lean to love watermellon, it is 90% water.

I already do, we got some more today. Was my lunch :)

Congratulations @enjar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @enjar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52