A quick introduction to my weightlifting originssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

It was a hot summer day, I thought to myself, "I really got to get up and head to the community center to train... slacked off yesterday and the day before!" It was the summer before freshman year - High School basketball - it seemed like the god damn NBA to me! So, I got up and walked with my two basketballs to the gym.
dum thap dum thap dum       thap                    shwup                         s w i shh
Ball handling drills, shooting drills, conditioning, everything basketball related. It was the kind of training that you dreamed about, the kind you wished you could keep doing when you were dead-tired. An hour in, I hear a voice, "Will?". Standing at 5'4, I turn around to see someone ducking in the doorway to get through, "Wait, you're Tino aren't you?" This 6'4 Varsity Basketball player in the best High school league in the country would soon become my everyday training partner and best friend. He would introduce me to LA Fitness, introduce me to lifting weights as a recreation, as a body sculpting activity, and as a fulfilling sport.

Fast forward, basketball has become a sweet-like-warm-honey memory and lifting has taken my passion, become my release, and given me therapy.

Less than a month out from my first powerlifting meet, posting everyday on my instagram about my progress, sharing my life with others, hoping to do the same here on steemit, I hope you will follow me on my journey to my first USA Powerlifting meet, through my training, and much more.
‒ dumas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64833.23
ETH 3558.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35