Fat Gain while Not Exercising - [Q&A]

in #fitness7 years ago

In this video I respond to a question that someone asked on Facebook, and it goes along the lines of:

  • Why does fat tissue grow if you stop exercising?

My rationale is built on the fact that there is no evolutionary advantage to hold on to expensive tissue (muscle) when there is no stimulus to require its input.

I also explain that people who exercise vigorously also tend to consume more food to support their exercise and the recovery from it. When they stop exercising, many tend to remain at the same caloric intake but since there is no requirement for such amount of calories, some of it may be stored in the adipose tissue.

Please see the video for the rest of my explanation:



To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Is there anything in a peer reviewed science journal backing up the claims made in this video? Or do you have specialized training in this area? I have to ask because I didn't see any citation to authority.

I am speaking from the top of my head. Do I seem to make any inference for anything?

That's exactly my point. An inference is a conclusion or opinion that is formed because of known facts or evidence. One would hope that it would be an informed opinion--that it be supported by objective facts and evidence. I'm asking about what you based your conclusions on. Are you a personal trainer who has documented the past weight loss of clients? Are you a nutritionist with a university degree? Are you quoting from a scientific study? Those are just some examples of corroboration. And since I was having trouble finding this in your video, I thought I should give you the opportunity to offer it.

Just a random guy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83