9,667 steps per day for a Month - [After-Thoughts]

in #fitness7 years ago

I Walked 7.55 Kilometers per Day for a Month - [Insights] - 1.png

During the month of May 2017 I completed an average of 9,667 steps per day or 7.55 kilometers. This performance is ranked #2 since I started using the pedometer on my phone back in 2014. #1 is September 2014 when I completed an average of 10,256 steps, ~600 more than now.

But this is not me. I don't do a lot of walking on average. My exercise of choice is resistance training.

In fact I'm almost always under 5,000 steps/day and more often than not even under 3,000. I'm not proud of this though; but I'm just saying for reference.

Here I'll underline some insights that came along with this involuntary experiment:

  • the pedometer shows ~347 kcals/day burned with this exercise (may be very inaccurate)
  • I had to consume more calories to maintain weight
  • sleep was stellar
  • bowel movements were much more epic
  • I became very introspective during the walks (I suspect higher parietal lobe activation)
  • and a few more, less interesting.

Overall, I had to somehow take the good out of this experiment and try to at least implement some form of it more often. An involuntary form of cardiovascular exercise, such as walking, seems to be very beneficial for me. The thought of running or treadmill exercise sounds very unappealing though (I was a runner a few years ago, but I slowly moved away from that).

I've written a more indepth post about this on my other blog if you're interested to know more. Anyhow, I'd like to know if you're using a pedometer on your phone or watch and if you do, what have you learned from tracking your steps?!


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

I did briefly using a Pebble watch but I don't know if it was the software or my watch was faulty as bought 2nd hand but it just wasn't come up with accurate information.

Wauw! More often than not, health is determined primarily by nutrition and stress, but keeping in shape and not sitting too much is also an excellent way to keep fit and the lymphatic system flowing!

I agree. I read recently that body composition is 80% controlled by what we eat. I can offset that calories burned by an hour of walking with a couple of oreos. Ergh!

Thanks for sharing. I just started walking for exercise and hope to earn all of the benefits you have mentioned along with some weight loss. I avg about 4 miles per day. I used to be a runner, but a knee injury has slowed me to a walk. It's ok though, I enjoy moving at the slower pace and noticing more of my surroundings. Have a great week!

do you track food intake?

I don't count calories, but I do keep a pretty general idea of carb intake. Do you think the app on your phone is pretty accurate? I might look to start tracking steps like that.

yes, in terms of tracking steps, it's quite accurate. in terms of estimating calories burned, I think most of them are inaccurate.

Up voted everyone here. I work in the hospitality business and can tell you that walking all day everyday is just the norm. Doing this for a number of years though has me wondering if the body just adapts to conditions and the benefits may not be as great over time? Thoughts?

I think this is probably true. The body acclimates and becomes efficient at performing a practiced motion such as walking. To get a workout you need to go further, faster, walk hills or carry weights to get more exercise. Don't get me wrong. Movement is still great and healthy, your body just doesn't have to work very hard because the movement has become routine. Thanks for up-voting my earlier comment.

You are welcome. Yes, I agree. It certainly becomes used to it's routine daily use.

thank you!

Nice to see, some posts with information about health, not only about tech :)

thanks for reading!

Hi Cristi, thanks for the share!

I use a Fitbit watch to track my steps and hit 12k-15k when I'm busy and 5k when I'm not regularly.

But I also lift/workout 5 times a week, which almost makes up for the lack of cardio!

What are your fitness goals?

Will follow and wait for your reply :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83