10 Minutes of Jump Rope, What You Probably Never Knew. (Featuring Author @johnnyyash)

in #fitness8 years ago

Why You Should Jump Rope Every Day?

When I think back to when I was a child, I remember other kids playing with jump ropes. They would practice right on the play ground at school. I never thought of it as an exercise tool, just something kids play with. Well I had no idea how spectacular this little rope could be. Jump roping has tremendous benefits associated with it. Using one everyday will improve your health drastically. I'd like to share some information you may not have heard before.

Image Credit

How Did I Get Into Jump Roping?

After being vegetarian, vegan, and raw vegan for a period, I went back to a lifestyle of eating meat. Meat was apart of every one of my meals. It wouldn't be right to just blame meat for my health issues. I was also eating tons of processed sugar. I wasn't fat, but I was overweight by 20 pounds. The extra weight would make me feel tired and sluggish. I would drink coffee everyday to counteract my tiredness. I wanted to do more to get into shape and live a happy and healthy life. I was sick of always feeling weighed down.

I had a two year membership with '24 Hour Fitness' and probably went three months out of those two years. I needed something that was going to be fun and not just, "Ugh, time to go to the gym". I ended up finding boxing classes at the local boxing gym. The boxers work out is an amazing way to get into shape. Most of the exercises require you to use your own body weight. You don't need heavy and expensive exercise equipment. The jump rope is a large part of the boxer's workout. Boxing was the way I discovered the amazing benefits of jump roping.

Image credit

Advantages of Jump Roping

Jumping rope can actually be more efficient for getting into shape than jogging. It is a piece of exercise equipment sells for under $20 and fits into a small bag. You'll see improvements to cardiovascular health, while toning muscle at the same time. Using a jump rope for just 15-20 minutes will burn off the calories from a candy bar.

1. Improves Coordination

Jumping rope drastically improves your coordination by making you focus on your feet. Your brain is aware of what your feet are doing, even if you aren't paying attention. Using a jump rope daily will make you lighter on your feet.

2. Prevents and Decreases Foot and Ankle Injuries

Jumping rope is beneficial for those with sports injuries. Athletes usually suffer foot and ankle injuries from running and then stopping quick and turning. Jumping rope not only improves your foot coordination but also increases your strength in the muscles surrounding your ankle joint and in your foot. So besides healing injuries it can also be preventive.

3. Burns High Amounts of Calories

Jumping rope burns more calories than 30 minutes of jogging. Ten minutes of jump rope is about equal to running an eight-minute mile. So start jumping rope and start burning calories before the holidays.

Image credit

4. Improves Bone Density

The medium impact of jumping rope increases bone density, but isn’t as hard on your joints as running because the impact of each jump is absorbed by both legs. In fact, according to Dr. Daniel W. Barry, a researcher who has studied the bones of the elderly and of athletes, the latest studies show simply jumping is one of the very best exercises for improving bone density.

5. Improves Cardiovascular Health and Breathing

Another great benefit of using a jump rope during exercise is increased cardiovascular fitness. Your cardiovascular system involves your heart and the arteries and veins that bring blood and oxygen to and from the heart and the rest of the body. By improving this system, you will have a greater ability to perform your daily tasks. Breathing will become easier while jumping rope. This is beneficial when doing other activities because you won’t be as out of breath as easily.

6. Makes You Smarter and More Calm

It may be hard to believe but jumping rope can make you smarter. Jumping aids in the development of the left and right hemispheres of your brain, which enhances awareness, improves reading skills, increases memory and makes you more mentally alert. Your improved ability to jump rope and be synchronous with your body, mind and the rope, can actually help you be more calm in other situations.

Image credit

So What Are You Waiting For?

I bought my jump rope at 'Target', but you can pretty much find them anywhere. There is no reason not to start jumping rope today. Jumping will bring amazing improvements to your health. You'll feel better and be happier. I like jump rope because you can do it anywhere and it works out these muscles; the gastrocnemius, quadriceps, hamstrings, glutes, abdominals, forearms, and deltoids. If you looking for any easy way to get a good workout I suggest picking up a jump rope. Just by doing ten minutes of jump rope per day, you'll see huge improvements in the way you look and feel.

Skip The Treadmill

How To Jump Rope

Video credit

@crazymymzysa features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author.

Sort:  

Back in the day as a wrestler we used to jump rope using a chain. This not only strengthened your wrist but made you very coordinated. Otherwise you ended up with bruises when you got out of time and whacked by the chain.

Sounds pretty hardcore, that's awesome! Yeah, I can see the chain being painful hitting you. Even the rope can cause a little pain. Thanks for commenting!

I often think people try to avoid jumping rope because of the coordination and rhythm needed. Pity though as it is not only an excellent cardiovascular exercise but you learn gross motorskills.

Exactly. It took me a couple of weeks to get the hang of it. I was terrible in the beginning. I didn't jump rope when I was younger, so I was learning as an adult. But, after watching some YouTube videos and going to boxing classes I picked it up. It definitely helps with your motorskills. Thanks for the comment!

I jump on a rebounder for all the same reasons but jumping rope would definitely be a tougher and a more intense cardio workout. You've convinced me. I'll give a go.

Awesome! If you are new, it may take some practice to get started. Once I figured it out, I thought I was really cool. Made me feel like Rocky lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64